Smoked Gouda and Leek Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was ok. It would have been much better if the chicken was seasoned. I think marinating the chicken would have added more flavor to the recipe. The chicken was flavorless, the filling was good. FYI - I did not add the gouda to the frying pan to melt it. I had very thinly sliced gouda that put directly on the chicken. I then put the cooked leeks on the gouda and rolled it. Then rolled it in the ham. The filling came out fine. It wasn't a messy, goopy mess this way. I'd make it again, but marinate the chicken first, or somehow season it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
this is really good....I had some pancetta left over that worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Took this recipe and used veal instead. When couldn't get our cured meat cut thinly enough so we wrapped the veal around meat, leaks and smoked gouda. Like others suggested we did not melt the gouda, it melted just fine in while the meat was cooking. Also before cooking sprinkled garlic powder, salt and pepper on outside of the meat to give more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Strasser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Made this and it came out very good. It wasn't very difficult, is pretty healthy, and is kind of "fancy." The only thing I will do differently next time is to make double the "stuffing." Maybe my chicken pieces were larger? I felt it would have been better with more of the leek/gouda/garlic inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriTheAuthor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aredendra
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This recipe wasn't inedible by a long shot but it was very dull. I'm not sure what adjustments could be made to the chicken--I covered mine front and back with black pepper for some umph due to other reviewer comments. That wasn't enough, anyway. Smoked gouda is also strong enough that I really lost any other flavors that might have been in the filling. Neither did my gouda 'melt', exactly. I think the pan wasn't hot enough since I was aiming not to burn the garlic. Unfortunately, not something I'd do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe! I flattened out the chicken breasts first to help with the stuffing and did not melt the cheese in the pan as directed. I just laid a slice of cheese (Gouda) on the inside with the leek and garlic mixture after it had cooled a bit as well as added a layer of salt/pepper. After the chicken was done (it did not take as long because I had thinned the breasts) and the chicken was resting, I grated a bit of extra cheese on the top and garnished with more of the cooked leaks. We will have this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was great! Fresh leeks from the garden. I used a little fresh ground white pepper and salt for seasoning. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwenn
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as instructed and it was amazing! I served it with almond-garlic asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This was great! I used asparagus instead of leeks though. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Nice recipe with a great presentation! I shredded the cheese and then wrapped the cheese and the cooked leeks with the prosciutto. I also ended up breading the chicken with panko. My family (4 hungry boys) all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

See how to make a super-simple baked chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States