Smoked Fish Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Love this! We have smoked herring in Minnesota, and it worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I live on Florida's West Coast and here, we call it fish "spread". This recipe can be modified if fish isn't "smoked" and be good as the restaurants. I just made mine and it's terrific. Here's what I did to modify the recipe... I used tilapia, just a plain white fish (because that's what I had in the refrigerator). I marinated with lime juice. I cooked the fish in a pan with just a tiny bit of butter on high heat so it got crusty on the outside... just a few minutes on each side if the fish is thin. No need for a messy food processor! I sliced into tiny pieces, but in a bowl with all the ingredients in the recipe EXCEPT, I was liberal with the Old Bay and the cracked pepper. A little bit of garlic powder thrown in, too. Also, if you're serving this as an hor d'oeuvre for a crowd, you'll want to double the recipe. Use an ice cream scoop to make a rounded serving or two on leafy lettuce. In Florida, fish spread is served with Captains wafer and sometimes Tortilla Chips. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doreenmary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was THE BEST!! I added some capers and very thinly sliced red onion on top. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
PLEASE NOTE: This recipe uses Smoked Fish. The person who complained about following directions and getting a mushy dip, most likely used baked fish. If you do not have a source of smoked fish, you can smoke your own (directions available on internet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I'm a native Floridian and my husband and I LOVE smoked fish dip. This was my first attempt at making it myself. A friend gave my husband a bunch of smoked mullet and this is what we did with it. This recipe is very close to what is served in the local restaurants. I added an extra tablespoon of mayo and sour cream and omitted the liquid smoke. Next time I might try adding a little red onion. Served with crackers, lemon wedges and hot sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was okay, not a good as I was hoping for, not what I remember from living in South Fla. I used trout that we had smoked, maybe it was not the right fish to use. I did have to double on the spices to give it any taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Added a TBSP of Light cream cheese and it was PERFECT!!!! Just like in the UP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this recipe with smoked amberjack that we caught and smoked ourself.Did not use food processer just flaked fish with fork.Put on crackers with hot sauce and cold beer YUM,YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. After boning fish, it was a breeze to make. I did double all seasonings and added some diced jalapeno from a jar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was easy to make and tasted great. We smoked some fresh fish on our camping trip and had just enough left over to make this when we got home. We followed the recipe exactly except our fish was seasoned as it was being smoked. This made for a spicy dip. Now I know to use less hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States