Smoked Fish Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Great recipe. For those of you that are disappointed that it doesn't taste like the gulf coast version might not be using the right fish. We use mullet and the flavor also depends on the person smoking the millet. I am from the gulf coast and we smoke the millet with oak and then make the dip. You can come close with other fish but it just isn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cross City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used plain greek yogurt instead of mayo and probably 30 + drops of hot sauce. I couldn't even taste it before 15. I will be making this again. It's such a healthy and different way to prepare fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Hubs belongs to a fly fishing club and is always bringing home smoked trout, so I decided to try this out for him. I made this as written and let him taste it. He wanted it creamier, so I added more mayonnaise and more sour cream. I also increased the Old Bay and left out the liquid smoke. He is really enjoying this, so I’m sure I’ll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a really nice dip for any occasion! I added a bit more seasoning but I did not add liquid smoke as I wanted just the smoked flavor of the whitefish to shine. Healthy and tasty!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Skanee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Being from the west coast of Fla and know about good smoked fish dip this is as close as it get's to perfect...also don't use catfish , I'm still laughing at that , thanks for making my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Love this! We have smoked herring in Minnesota, and it worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I live on Florida's West Coast and here, we call it fish "spread". This recipe can be modified if fish isn't "smoked" and be good as the restaurants. I just made mine and it's terrific. Here's what I did to modify the recipe... I used tilapia, just a plain white fish (because that's what I had in the refrigerator). I marinated with lime juice. I cooked the fish in a pan with just a tiny bit of butter on high heat so it got crusty on the outside... just a few minutes on each side if the fish is thin. No need for a messy food processor! I sliced into tiny pieces, but in a bowl with all the ingredients in the recipe EXCEPT, I was liberal with the Old Bay and the cracked pepper. A little bit of garlic powder thrown in, too. Also, if you're serving this as an hor d'oeuvre for a crowd, you'll want to double the recipe. Use an ice cream scoop to make a rounded serving or two on leafy lettuce. In Florida, fish spread is served with Captains wafer and sometimes Tortilla Chips. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doreenmary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was THE BEST!! I added some capers and very thinly sliced red onion on top. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
PLEASE NOTE: This recipe uses Smoked Fish. The person who complained about following directions and getting a mushy dip, most likely used baked fish. If you do not have a source of smoked fish, you can smoke your own (directions available on internet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States