Smoked Fish Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Loved this - I used tilapia and doubled the seasonings. I also added 1 whole scallion (green onion). - very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Davis Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Don't use the Food Processor! Shave the smoked fish with a bread knife. Used 3 tbs Mayo + 3 tbs Greek Yogurt Grated 1 tbs each of onion, celery and carrot Juice of 1/2 lime, or 1 key lime. Used Hot Pepper Oil (chinese) instead of tabasco sauce. Followed recipe otherwise. Mixed it all with a fork until spread was mixed and consistent. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Made this today & soooo wonder why I paid so much to buy it already made. This is easy & has a fantastic flavor. Hope to share with peeps over the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I caught a 25 pound wahoo on Tuesday. We ate it steaks on the grill and brought the rest to the smoke house. I made this dip tonight and it is better than any I have had in the local restaurants. I served it on crackers with jalapeño slices and fresh lemon from my tree. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Quite good w/ whitefish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe, tasted it, added more smoke, and enjoyed! Theres still an element that is missing but this dip is still very close to the dip Ive had in florida. I eat mine on a cracker with a piece of sweet onion and a small amount of sliced jalapeno. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
i thought this was a really great recipe, and pretty easy for most people. Although i went the extra step. Instead of buying smoked whitefish, i smoked it myself and the dip was excellent. Like most american families i don't have a smoker. So, i bought this little wood chip box and placed it near the holes where the propane leaks out and placed aluminum foil on the grill plates, this turned out very nicely. WITH THE WOOD CHIPS YOU MUST PLACE THEM IN WATER TO GET THE SMOKE TO RISE. I soaked the wood chips in Blue moon Beer to get more Flavor. Great recipe, Great Food, Great Times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I used baked tilapia and it turned out nicely. I did season the fish with old bay and lime prior to cooking and I upped the sour cream, old bay and hot sauce (I like my food a little spicier) and omitted the liquid smoke. Also really no need for a food processer, it blended well with just a spoon. It seemed a little runny at first, but after a half hour in the freezer it was perfect consistency. Brought it to a party with some large sesame wafers, when those ran out my friends continued eating it with tortilla chips. Went over great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Great tasting, but I modified it a wee bit, also added 1 tablespoon of cream cheese, extra old bay and a little extra lemon! Topped the crackers off with some jalapenos and crystal hot sauce! Very happy with the way it turned out and it tastes much better after a few hours in the fridge. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
TEN STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States