Smoked Chile Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This cole slaw was pretty good. I was expecting it to be really spicy, but it wasn't too bad. My husband really liked it and my 3 year old ate a few bites of his. I paired it with a Mexican casserole to stay with a Mexican/Southwest style meal. We will definitely make this again when we get tired of the regular cole slaws. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Eh...this was okay, but I was expecting better. The flavor profile sounded so interesting. I'm not sure exactly what it needs. Maybe just one tablespoon chipotle? Maybe a little vinegar? Maybe it's just not my thing. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
no offense to anyone but this has got to be one of the worse things I have ever tasted. Maybe I did something wrong. I used half the amount of cabbage and onion because I like more sauce in my cole slaw and the sauce smelled sooooo good but when I tasted it a few hours later it was very bitter and way to hot and I love hot and spicy food but this was not a good hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Love, love, love this slaw! It is requested by friends every time we get together! Last time I made it, I used packaged broccoli slaw and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe! I am not usually a fan of coleslaw, but was looking for a way to use some leftover chipotles and came across this. I am so glad I tried it. I love the spice in this dish. After making it a few times as a side dish for family events, my mom came up with the idea of using it as a topping for fish tacos. This is now how I use this cole slaw all the time. It doesn't matter what kind of fish you use because this cole slaw makes the tacos. Delicious! Can't wait to have it again tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So good. I used lite mayo. Did not change anything else. This was so good. VERY spicy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
OMG! This stuff is beyond good! It's smokey, slightly sweet and definitely spicy! I used a 14 oz. bag of cole slaw mix vs. shredding cabbage. I used Hellman's light mayo and only 1 Tbsp. of chipolte peppers in adobo sauce because man are those peppers ever hot! I would add those to taste as you mix the dressing. Since I had cut that in half and yet wanted to maintain a level of smokiness, I added 1/4 tsp. of smoked paprika. I mixed everything together and let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours. This stuff is fabulous! It was perfect with "Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Apricot Ginger Glaze" from this site. I can't wait to try this with pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this for a bbq this weekend. I tripled the sauce (calculated to 12 servings) and it was just enough for two bags of pre-shredded cabbage and carrots. I made the dressing the night before, then just added it to the dry ingredients a couple hours before serving. Easy and delicious. Spicy, but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Holy toledo.....if my man is begging me to make this cole slaw a couple times a week, you know it's awesome. Yummy just exactly according to the recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I love coleslaw and I wanted to love this one, but we weren't crazy about it. I did add less chipolte because we don't like things too spicy and it still turned out quite spicy. I think the cumin overpowered the other flavors, so maybe decreasing the cumin a little would help. On a positive note, quite a few people at my picnic did enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States