Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I would give this four stars, but it needs some tweaking. It was really runny, like cream of wheat or soft polenta. Next time I will use 1.5 to 2 cups of chicken broth and omit the butter all together. Its not necessary. The flavor of the cauliflower and cheese combination makes this taste a lot like mashed potatoes. You could probably trick the kids for sure. I will definitely make again with these changes. NOTE** Ok, I think I figured it out. I used about 1.5c chicken broth, simmered for 15 mins, added 1/3c sour cream, 1c parmesean cheese and 2tbsp butter. I mixed with my hand mixer until I had a blended but slightly chunky (like country smashed potatoes) texture. LOVE IT>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Yum! I've made this several times before but couldn't quite figure out what was missing. I think cooking the cauliflower in chicken broth is key...I used chicken broth with roasted garlic and added a little extra garlic. I pureed the cauliflower in my food processor. I only used a little bit of the broth as I didn't want them to be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was quite yummy and my husband has requested to have it often. I steamed the cauliflower instead of boiling it in chicken broth and added a few tablespoons of sour cream. After using the potato masher, I switched to a hand-held mixer. The consistency was not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Cauliflower will never be mashed potatoes and this preparation will fool no one into thinking so. But as a virtually carb free substitute this was pretty darn good! While I cooked the cauliflower in chicken broth, I drained it completely before adding the cheeses and butter and had no problem at all with its being too soupy. If you like cauliflower in the first place, you'll like it prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
With a few changes this is a good recipe. I steamed the cauliflower in the chicken broth with a couple tsp of bottled garlic. When it was done I drained the broth into a bowl. Then used my wand blender and added a little broth at a time until I had the thickness I wanted. To get the "mashed potato" consistency I added a couple tablespoons of heavy cream. You could use half & half, but I didn't have any. Of course this adds cals and fat, but gives a wonderful consistency! To cut down on the cheese I used crumbled gorgonzola (about 3 T) instead of the cheddar and parm. Fabulous if you like that taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Good stuff, but with some healthier modifications -- no cheese, just a touch of chicken stock, drizzle of olive oil and lots of garlic. Kept it simple and flavorful - took a while for my boyfriend to warm up to it, but he ultimately liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This actually isn't too bad. I say that because I don't like cauliflower. At all. But I had two small servings of this one. Doesn't get five stars though bc of a few things. It was pretty difficult to mash the cauliflower, so I plopped it all in the food processor to smooth it out, although the texture was still a bit grainy. Also, there is a ton of liquid. I drained as other reviewers did,but added about a tablespoon of broth back in. I did use the amount of butter called for but didn't add any salt and used less cheese. I also subbed feta for the cheddar and added roasted garlic. With all these changes, it was good. Otherwise, would have been very runny. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was good the second time I made it. I steamed the cauliflower instead of boiling it-so it wont be runny, also I used olive oil instead of butter to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy bakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Reduce the liquid by half. Boil with bay leaf and onion, then discard when you wish to smash cauliflower. Add 2 mashed potatoes to mashed cauliflower. At the end stir in about 2 Tbsp more butter than called for. Add 3 Tbsp powdered milk to broth for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good, I followed someones advise and drained the liquid. It came out too dry and I added some milk. I also did not add the cheddar cheese, I added more Parmesan. I use Pecorino Romano, which I find is a more creamier and less salty taste as other grated cheeses. This is served at many local restaurant in my area, this recipe is close to, but not as good. Thank you for a the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States