Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I would give this four stars, but it needs some tweaking. It was really runny, like cream of wheat or soft polenta. Next time I will use 1.5 to 2 cups of chicken broth and omit the butter all together. Its not necessary. The flavor of the cauliflower and cheese combination makes this taste a lot like mashed potatoes. You could probably trick the kids for sure. I will definitely make again with these changes. NOTE** Ok, I think I figured it out. I used about 1.5c chicken broth, simmered for 15 mins, added 1/3c sour cream, 1c parmesean cheese and 2tbsp butter. I mixed with my hand mixer until I had a blended but slightly chunky (like country smashed potatoes) texture. LOVE IT>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Yum! I've made this several times before but couldn't quite figure out what was missing. I think cooking the cauliflower in chicken broth is key...I used chicken broth with roasted garlic and added a little extra garlic. I pureed the cauliflower in my food processor. I only used a little bit of the broth as I didn't want them to be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I like the flavor here; so somebody help! How do I make this texture more like mashed potatoes? It's too runny and too cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
With a few changes this is a good recipe. I steamed the cauliflower in the chicken broth with a couple tsp of bottled garlic. When it was done I drained the broth into a bowl. Then used my wand blender and added a little broth at a time until I had the thickness I wanted. To get the "mashed potato" consistency I added a couple tablespoons of heavy cream. You could use half & half, but I didn't have any. Of course this adds cals and fat, but gives a wonderful consistency! To cut down on the cheese I used crumbled gorgonzola (about 3 T) instead of the cheddar and parm. Fabulous if you like that taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Good stuff, but with some healthier modifications -- no cheese, just a touch of chicken stock, drizzle of olive oil and lots of garlic. Kept it simple and flavorful - took a while for my boyfriend to warm up to it, but he ultimately liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
It was great to have another recipe for cauliflower that was not a casserole. This was yummy -I cut the cheese in 1/2, eliminated the broth and added some fresh chopped olives (I was not trying to pass it off as mashed potato)..will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I've been trying to hard to eat my vegetables, even though I don't like them. This dish looked like mashed potatoes and smelled really good, but the texture was definitely still cauliflower. I will perhaps try a food processor and puree it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
It's ok. I've made it twice -- followed reviewers advice the second time, and it still tastes like runny cauliflower with cheese. It doesn't taste good. Just not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I follwed Brookes suggestions, and I drained the cauiflower very well, added butter, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper to taste. I was still watery, and my kids did not fall for it. And they love cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good, I followed someones advise and drained the liquid. It came out too dry and I added some milk. I also did not add the cheddar cheese, I added more Parmesan. I use Pecorino Romano, which I find is a more creamier and less salty taste as other grated cheeses. This is served at many local restaurant in my area, this recipe is close to, but not as good. Thank you for a the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States