Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Good recipe! Nice option for bland cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Tasted fantastic, but I didn't care for the consistency. It was a little too mushy. I'd like to try one reviewers suggestion and a little heavy cream to it - that would probably help. Or perhaps I just overmashed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The adults liked the flavor/texture; the kids did not. They wouldn't touch it after one bit. But they're kids, so we take their critique with a grain of salt! Definitely use the blender on this one to get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I do not understand why this recipe is being touted as healthy, figure friendly etc. It sounds good, I will make it, but I doubt it is healthier and lower in calories than plain old mashed potatoes due to the butter, cheeses etc. Who are we kidding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
i'm giving this a 4 for a great starting point, but i am love with how i have adjusted this recipe. i boil the cauliflower in the broth for flavor, but drain off all the broth when the florets are tender. i mix in 1/3 or 1/2 cup or so of sour cream, s+p, and a cup or so of shredded cheddar (no parm). then just mash as you would potoatoes. i don't think you need all of the broth, as it would be very runny that way. i served this at xmas dinner and there was none left! very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used vegetable broth, and strained the cauliflower as the other comments have said. I used 1/2 amount of cheddar cheese, weeks later people are still talking about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I read other reviews and agree that it would be too soupy with 3 cups of chicken broth. I used 1.5 cups of broth and just over 1 tablespoon of butter was plenty. Also, I had to substitute mozzarella cheese instead of white cheddar. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great and easy recipe! Like other reviewers, I simmered it for 15 minutes instead of ten and then strained out the remaining liquid so that it wouldn't be runny. I added fresh garlic and didn't use any butter with all the cheese, I didn't think it was necessary... it came out perfectly --not at all runny and super tasty! It certainly isn't mashed potatoes, but it's a good alternative. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I did this but it was runny (my mistake, not a big enough cauliflower) so to fix it I threw in just enough instant potatoes to thicken. Fantastic taste though. Will try it again but properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought this recipe was absolutely delicious! However, like so many have posted, it tends to be runny. After reading the various reviews, I made it a point to drain all of the broth but it was still kinda runny. I added 1/2 c. of low cal cream cheese and that improved the consistency somewhat. I used an immersion blender and the end result was like a very, very thick sauce, but not like mashed potatoes. I'm wondering if it's not the fact that cauliflower, when fully cooked, retains a lot of liquid. Next time I may cook it to just tender and see of that makes for a thicker consistency. The flavor was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States