Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Tasted fantastic, but I didn't care for the consistency. It was a little too mushy. I'd like to try one reviewers suggestion and a little heavy cream to it - that would probably help. Or perhaps I just overmashed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The adults liked the flavor/texture; the kids did not. They wouldn't touch it after one bit. But they're kids, so we take their critique with a grain of salt! Definitely use the blender on this one to get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I do not understand why this recipe is being touted as healthy, figure friendly etc. It sounds good, I will make it, but I doubt it is healthier and lower in calories than plain old mashed potatoes due to the butter, cheeses etc. Who are we kidding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
i'm giving this a 4 for a great starting point, but i am love with how i have adjusted this recipe. i boil the cauliflower in the broth for flavor, but drain off all the broth when the florets are tender. i mix in 1/3 or 1/2 cup or so of sour cream, s+p, and a cup or so of shredded cheddar (no parm). then just mash as you would potoatoes. i don't think you need all of the broth, as it would be very runny that way. i served this at xmas dinner and there was none left! very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used vegetable broth, and strained the cauliflower as the other comments have said. I used 1/2 amount of cheddar cheese, weeks later people are still talking about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I read other reviews and agree that it would be too soupy with 3 cups of chicken broth. I used 1.5 cups of broth and just over 1 tablespoon of butter was plenty. Also, I had to substitute mozzarella cheese instead of white cheddar. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great and easy recipe! Like other reviewers, I simmered it for 15 minutes instead of ten and then strained out the remaining liquid so that it wouldn't be runny. I added fresh garlic and didn't use any butter with all the cheese, I didn't think it was necessary... it came out perfectly --not at all runny and super tasty! It certainly isn't mashed potatoes, but it's a good alternative. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I did this but it was runny (my mistake, not a big enough cauliflower) so to fix it I threw in just enough instant potatoes to thicken. Fantastic taste though. Will try it again but properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought this recipe was absolutely delicious! However, like so many have posted, it tends to be runny. After reading the various reviews, I made it a point to drain all of the broth but it was still kinda runny. I added 1/2 c. of low cal cream cheese and that improved the consistency somewhat. I used an immersion blender and the end result was like a very, very thick sauce, but not like mashed potatoes. I'm wondering if it's not the fact that cauliflower, when fully cooked, retains a lot of liquid. Next time I may cook it to just tender and see of that makes for a thicker consistency. The flavor was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this stuff is good tried it for the first time a lil runny but I think I put to much broth back into it . A work in progress. The only complaint I have it looks more like lil tiny pieces of coliflower not the smashed patato look can any one tell me how to make it look more like mashed patatos I have used the kitchen aide with the paddle but that seem like it did not work too well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Refugee in Texas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States