Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Kids were clueless this was cauliflower and ask for it often. I use 2 heads of cauliflower and 4 cups broth. It is important to let it simmer until the liquid has reduced to half. Instead of using the vermont white cheddar I thicken it with Idahoan White cheese instant potatoes. It solves the runny problem and the fact I can't find that cheese any where.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy and super good. I left out the cheese and added green onions because I had a ton. Even my meat-guzzling man had seconds. I wish I had more cauliflower, because I would make this dish again right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Everyone like it even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Ohio, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I used less broth and cooked so the it was mostly gone, either that or you would want to drain before adding remaining ingred. and finishing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I took the advice of several other reviewers and cut the chicken broth back to 1 1/2 cups and the butter to 2 tablespoons. I also added garlic and some other seasonings to taste and 1/2 cup of half and half. I used a little velveeta and sharp cheddar because I forgot to get the parmesan and it was delish! Not sure why people are saying they drained the cauliflower. I just let the liquid cook off while I added the cheese and half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
It was great. For what it's worth, I typically eyeball recipes, which I did for this. I drained the broth after cooking and probably added 1/4 cup back in. I didn't use that much butter. I didn't have the white cheddar cheese but threw in a slice of pepper jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Good recipe! Nice option for bland cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Tasted fantastic, but I didn't care for the consistency. It was a little too mushy. I'd like to try one reviewers suggestion and a little heavy cream to it - that would probably help. Or perhaps I just overmashed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The adults liked the flavor/texture; the kids did not. They wouldn't touch it after one bit. But they're kids, so we take their critique with a grain of salt! Definitely use the blender on this one to get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I do not understand why this recipe is being touted as healthy, figure friendly etc. It sounds good, I will make it, but I doubt it is healthier and lower in calories than plain old mashed potatoes due to the butter, cheeses etc. Who are we kidding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States