Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Good recipe, however I took the hints from other reviews and I tweeked it just a bit. Instead of the chicken broth, I used 2% milk. It really made it a little creamier and it tasted alot more like mashed potatoes that way. The milk blended better with the cheeses and the butter element. Other than that, GREAT idea, will use from now on, good substitute for mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lioness357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Don't be fooled, this is not to be confused with mashed potatoes, even with children..but it's still a very good side. For those cutting carbs, or just looking to add a tasty veggie side, this was a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Turned out really good. I cut the amount of cheese to try make it less fatty. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
good idea, but way to runny. You need to drain the cauliflower before you mash it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Tasty even without the 1 cup of cheese. I just used 1/4 cup of fresh grated parmesan cheese. I also added 3 cloves of garlic to the pan with the cauliflower. I used one can of chicken broth and made up the difference with water. I poured off all but a 1/2 cup or so of the liquid when the cauliflower was almost soft and let it cook all the way down. After mashing in the pan, I continued to cook the cauliflower to get out the extra moisture. I finished the dish with a little butter, sliced green onion tops, and black pepper. Will definitely make this again. To get a texture even closer to mashed potatoes but without all the carbs, add one quartered potato to the recipe and cook and mash along with the cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I love cauliflower, so I figured I'd try this out. I didn't want to boil the cauliflower, because it would make the cauliflower too soupy. So I steamed under some veggie stock for about 5 minutes, reserved the stock, and combined everything as per the recipe. I slowly added some stock until I had the consistency I wanted. As others have said, added a couple of potatoes will give you a fluffier cauliflower mash, but I like this as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ArbitraryCook
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this, but as basic as possible (because I didn't have some of the ingredients, and hey, its healthier!) In my version, I added a bag of cauliflower to a pot of salted boiling water, and let it boil till till the florets were very very tender. I then drained into a colander, and this is important- carefully smushed them flat while in the colander to drain out the excess water. When no longer dripping, tossed them back into pot with 3tbsp margarine, 1tbsp garlic, 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, and smashed until smooth with a potato masher. :) Now its one of my fave vegetable side dishes!!! I'm excited to eat a vegetable that's so cancer-fighting and awesome! Woot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I don't eat vegs...I make this every week now..I use on my eggs, on my turkey burgers...my new addiction!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I was doing a no potato thing for a while and this was a great substitute. Not that anyone would be fooled in to thinking this was smashed potatoes, but this was a great side dish. I could almost eat it as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benaellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I added a little bit of heavy cream and it was great! Couldn't even tell it was not potatoes. Family loved it. Do have to reduce the stock down for quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States