Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I don't like cauliflower all by itself, but like this its good. I found it a bit salty but that could have been me; I thought maybe it was the parmesan cheese but not sure. Either way this is a nice way to eat cauliflower especially for low carb diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I cut back the chicken broth to 1 3/4 C and it was still runny. I also made the mistake of trying to mash it with a hand blender and that just didn't work well. Next time I will use the food processor. The flavor was good but needs some work on the texture and consistency. Will make it again though. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Fuzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
TOO MUCH LIQUID! This is way too runny as written. I wish I had read the other reviews first but I followed the recipe to the letter. If I had drained the broth it would be good. As it was I wound up adding cream and just having it as cauliflower soup. Very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Good recipe, however I took the hints from other reviews and I tweeked it just a bit. Instead of the chicken broth, I used 2% milk. It really made it a little creamier and it tasted alot more like mashed potatoes that way. The milk blended better with the cheeses and the butter element. Other than that, GREAT idea, will use from now on, good substitute for mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lioness357

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Don't be fooled, this is not to be confused with mashed potatoes, even with children..but it's still a very good side. For those cutting carbs, or just looking to add a tasty veggie side, this was a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Turned out really good. I cut the amount of cheese to try make it less fatty. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
good idea, but way to runny. You need to drain the cauliflower before you mash it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Tasty even without the 1 cup of cheese. I just used 1/4 cup of fresh grated parmesan cheese. I also added 3 cloves of garlic to the pan with the cauliflower. I used one can of chicken broth and made up the difference with water. I poured off all but a 1/2 cup or so of the liquid when the cauliflower was almost soft and let it cook all the way down. After mashing in the pan, I continued to cook the cauliflower to get out the extra moisture. I finished the dish with a little butter, sliced green onion tops, and black pepper. Will definitely make this again. To get a texture even closer to mashed potatoes but without all the carbs, add one quartered potato to the recipe and cook and mash along with the cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I love cauliflower, so I figured I'd try this out. I didn't want to boil the cauliflower, because it would make the cauliflower too soupy. So I steamed under some veggie stock for about 5 minutes, reserved the stock, and combined everything as per the recipe. I slowly added some stock until I had the consistency I wanted. As others have said, added a couple of potatoes will give you a fluffier cauliflower mash, but I like this as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ArbitraryCook
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this, but as basic as possible (because I didn't have some of the ingredients, and hey, its healthier!) In my version, I added a bag of cauliflower to a pot of salted boiling water, and let it boil till till the florets were very very tender. I then drained into a colander, and this is important- carefully smushed them flat while in the colander to drain out the excess water. When no longer dripping, tossed them back into pot with 3tbsp margarine, 1tbsp garlic, 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, and smashed until smooth with a potato masher. :) Now its one of my fave vegetable side dishes!!! I'm excited to eat a vegetable that's so cancer-fighting and awesome! Woot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States