Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Just me and hubby for dinner so I cut this down. Used fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth 2 cups. Added in some minced onions and simmered for 15 mins. Strained the cauliflower and mashed. Added sharp cheddar cheese and parm cheese. Forgot the butter but it didn't need it. Added pepper but zero salt. Perfect side dish for the potato alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe did not work out for me. It turned out more like a cheese soup. Too watery and too much cheddar cheese. Won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe! Be sure to drain the extra liquid before mashing but it is truly delicious! My family loved it -- including my teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was amazing!! I did follow another reviewers advice and did the following. 1.5cup chicken broth, 1tbs butter, and when adding the cheese I also added 1/3cup plain greek yogurt. A really great substitute to mashed potatoes! *UPDATE* I have made this now several times and tweaked it each time, try adding about 3-4 cloves minced garlic when you put the cauliflower in the broth for a more garlic mashed taste. Also, be sure to drain any excess broth before mashing, that is key to preventing it from being runny. This is truly a staple in our house now and an excellent substitute to mashed pots. I will be serving it again tonight with Roasted rack of lamb and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I could not get enough of this delicious dish. It has a much different texture than mashed potatoes but has amazing flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Really good. I used less broth, about 2 cups, which I thought was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is good. Will probably make again. Kids ate it without complaining, that was exciting! I might try different cheeses in it & add more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good, first time trying it and I as many other reviewers stated made some changes. First I threw in 4 cloves of garlic ( I love garlic) also drained all of the chicken stock when it was done cooking. added in onion powder, garlic powder salt n pepper and a little bit of heavy cream for good measure :). Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Love this dish! Have made it several times. I let the broth boil down a bit but usually drain most of it off. To impatient.... Taste great ! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The first time I made this it was VERY soupy. I added instant mashed potatoes to thicken and it saved the dish :) it had great flavor so I wanted to try again. This time I drained off all but a little bit of liquid before I mashed and it turned out perfect! Rave reviews at the thanksgiving table. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States