Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The first time I made this it was VERY soupy. I added instant mashed potatoes to thicken and it saved the dish :) it had great flavor so I wanted to try again. This time I drained off all but a little bit of liquid before I mashed and it turned out perfect! Rave reviews at the thanksgiving table. Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious! We did not have white cheddar so used a cup of mozzarella instead since it was white along with fresh parmesan. We added a chopped yellow onion and a tablespoon of garlic. We added the onion and garlic towards the end while the cauliflower and broth were reducing. We let the mix reduce down longer than 10 mins and only drained off a small amount of the broth at the end as others recommended before mixing in the cheese and butter and it was more like a whipped mash (we used a hand masher). Tasted amazing and will definitely make again without changing any of the above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Way too watery. Separated upon smashing into an odd consistency. Do not add any salt, cheeses and parm are plenty salty. Does not feel 'figure friendly' when eating it, felt way too heavy. Could barely eat a half cup portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
my family insists i make this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made the recipe as is, but drained out 1 cup of broth before mashing. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This is the best! I added a few bacon crumbles, and have made it using fresh and frozen cauliflower. We prefer this instead of mashed potatoes. It also does very well leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Thank you JAMVS for this simple but delicious recipe. I knew from the directions that this was going to be a little on the wet side but went ahead and followed it anyway because I was craving for gravy (it's Thanksgiving). It tasted really good and looked perfect on the plate with a couple slices of spinach, cheese and sausage stuffed pork loin roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whimzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very good with the reduction of the broth to 1.5 cups. Be careful with the liquid, as it will turn mushy very fast. I served this with the Creamy Chipotle Chicken slow cooker recipe from this site and it was a nice low-carb meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vin-rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious! I used 1.5 cups of broth and 1 tblsp of butter. All other ingredients I kept the same. I won't go back to potatoes again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Incredible substitute for mashed potatos! My boyfriend loved them as well. I did cut down the chicken broth to 2 cups. When boiling the cauliflower I added garlic. When the cauliflower was ready I added 2T butter, fresh pepper, sea salt, parsley and 2T of half and half... and everyone wanted more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States