Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The flavor of this was very good, however like other reviewers, I found it to be way to runny and I had to drain it after adding all the cheese. I will definitely make this again and only use 1.5 cups of broth. I also used regular cheddar and it worked very well. I found that no salt was needed because there was plenty of salt in the cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
2 bags frozen cauliflower and make sure to let enough water evaporate, or just use less when making broth from bullion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
The taste is alright, it's just the texture that I don't really find appealing. Just don't expect this to have the texture of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Just me and hubby for dinner so I cut this down. Used fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth 2 cups. Added in some minced onions and simmered for 15 mins. Strained the cauliflower and mashed. Added sharp cheddar cheese and parm cheese. Forgot the butter but it didn't need it. Added pepper but zero salt. Perfect side dish for the potato alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe did not work out for me. It turned out more like a cheese soup. Too watery and too much cheddar cheese. Won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe! Be sure to drain the extra liquid before mashing but it is truly delicious! My family loved it -- including my teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was amazing!! I did follow another reviewers advice and did the following. 1.5cup chicken broth, 1tbs butter, and when adding the cheese I also added 1/3cup plain greek yogurt. A really great substitute to mashed potatoes! *UPDATE* I have made this now several times and tweaked it each time, try adding about 3-4 cloves minced garlic when you put the cauliflower in the broth for a more garlic mashed taste. Also, be sure to drain any excess broth before mashing, that is key to preventing it from being runny. This is truly a staple in our house now and an excellent substitute to mashed pots. I will be serving it again tonight with Roasted rack of lamb and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I could not get enough of this delicious dish. It has a much different texture than mashed potatoes but has amazing flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Really good. I used less broth, about 2 cups, which I thought was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is good. Will probably make again. Kids ate it without complaining, that was exciting! I might try different cheeses in it & add more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States