Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by DMGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great recipe! I ended up boiling in beef broth, then drained. While draining, I used a masher to get all of the liquid out. After that, I followed the recipe minus the butter, and subbed onion and chive cream cheese. Beat with a mixer. Delicious and a huge hit! Sorta satisfies that mashed potato texture, but is very flavorful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I asked my husband what he would rate this recipe out of 5 stars. He said, "5 stars definitely, it was gooood."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This recipe was awesome. Whole family loved it! I ended up draining about 1/2 cup of liquid before smashing, figured I could always add it back in but it wasn't needed. I used sharp cheddar instead of vermont white cheddar becuase it's what I had on hand. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
It was way too wet, and with the amount of cheese and butter used it ceases to be a healthy dish. I'll have to try some of the suggested variations to see what makes this a healthy alternative to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made two servings of this, to try out before unleashing it on the whole family. The first few bites were nice, but this quickly became heavy in my tummy and made me queasy. I would have to cut back on the cheeses and butter if I made this again, and then it wouldn't really be the same recipe, so it's not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I loved it! I did some changes, I used half of the recommended broth and added at simmer time 1 1/2 tsp of minced garlic. After simmer I drained out liquid, mashed the cauliflower and added 1/4cup parmesean cheese, 1/2 cup of weight watchers mexican blend cheese and pepper to taste. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMMINGBIRDANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious. Added a little garlic powder, yum! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was very good. After reading reviews, I decided to drain all the broth before mashing and am glad I did. It was still a bit runny. I can't imagine leaving all the broth in. Very delicious though and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is so delicious once you can figure out how to get the right consistency. I would recommend halving the liquid and then draining and saving it after the cauliflower is done steaming, adding back only as much as you need to get the right consistency. After taking some cues from other reviews, I used veggie stock to keep it vegetarian and cut it in half but it was still soupy. Luckily I had another head of cauliflower that I was able to steam up and add to the original pot. That was perfect. I used 2 tablespoons butter and 1/3 cup sour cream. The flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved the alternative to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlb1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heyburn, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States