Smashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was very good. After reading reviews, I decided to drain all the broth before mashing and am glad I did. It was still a bit runny. I can't imagine leaving all the broth in. Very delicious though and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is so delicious once you can figure out how to get the right consistency. I would recommend halving the liquid and then draining and saving it after the cauliflower is done steaming, adding back only as much as you need to get the right consistency. After taking some cues from other reviews, I used veggie stock to keep it vegetarian and cut it in half but it was still soupy. Luckily I had another head of cauliflower that I was able to steam up and add to the original pot. That was perfect. I used 2 tablespoons butter and 1/3 cup sour cream. The flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Loved the alternative to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlb1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heyburn, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We loved this cauliflower recipe, however, I didn't add the cheeses as I didn't want to add extra calories, but this tasted amazing with just the butter (I used low calorie margarine) alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
5 stars!! Next time I would us about a 1/2 cup less of the broth but only because I skipped the chedder cheese for dietary reasons so it was a bit thin. I also added a bit of cajun seasoning for a little zing. SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Good base but needs doctoring up.. I added garlic powder and drained the chicken stock. Can't imagine not draining it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a very good alternative to mashed potatoes. The husband and kid love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATINEEIDOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Way too much chicken broth. I removed my cauliflower from the broth & add 1/2 cup & it was still too much. Next time I will not add any chicken broth to the mix & spoon it in as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have heard about this dish but never made it. It is quick and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I agree with previous reviews that it turned out a little runnier than the consistency of regular mashed potatoes. Also, I decided not to add the cheddar cheese and instead added the just the parmesan cheese. But doing this only made the cheese melt in a stringy and gloppy fashion. Also, next time, I would only add have the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cantcookworthbeans

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States