Smashed Cauliflower Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Another great variation is to add a couple wedges of laughing cow garlic herb cheese instead of butter . it adds very little fat and calories . If you are on weight watchers as am I am it adds 2 + points per wedge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is a great side dish. I'm on a low carb diet and this is a great replacement for potatoes. It would be good for anyone though. I even have it cold and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yum! (I cheated and added a little mozzarella, but it would have been perfect even without it.) Even my boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANISAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
My husband raved about this dish! I only used 1 bag of frozen cauliflower, 3 Laughing Cow light garlic and herb wedges (instead of the butter), 1/4 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper, and then 1 tsp of garlic powder. Easy and delicious. Will become part of our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I liked this and even my husband said he thought it was ok. I used fresh cauliflower. I also set a little of this aside and followed the advice of another reviewer and put some laughing cow cheese wedges in it. I thought that was an even tastier variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
A wonderful use of cauliflower, not necessarily one of my favorite veggies; I used 1/2 head of fresh cabbage cut in floweretts, decreased the butter to 2 TBS of margarine/Benechol, limited the salt to a dash of kosher salt and added a smidge of plain, low fat yogurt. These substitutions reduced the fat calories and the sodium count. Hubby and I loved it. A new BFF for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Wonderful. I added some diced fresh chives and a splash of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this with a fresh head of cauliflower. After the water came to a boil, I threw in a few peeled whole cloves of garlic. I drained the cauliflower in a colander and removed the garlic cloves and smashed in the pot and then returned the cauliflower to the pot. I only used about 2-3 tbsps of butter and sprinkled some garlic powder - tasted just like garlic mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hixercise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
OMG this recipe is amazing!!! The texture is perfect and the flavor is so good. Thanks for sharing this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wonderful alternative to mashed potatoes. I used a big head of fresh cauliflower as opposed to the frozen packages. I just boiled for 9 minutes and drained. I let mine drain in the colander for about 6-7 minutes and didn't have any problems with watery vegetables. After adding the butter, salt and pepper and garlic right in the pan, I used the immersion blender to blend the cauliflower. It went really well 'San Francisco Pork Chops' and 'Chik-Fil-A® Slaw' both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Cauliflower Popcorn

Roasted cauliflower florets lightly seasoned with olive oil and garlic salt.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States