Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I looked at this recipe because I was just curious...what the heck was it?? I am so glad I did. I was looking for different varieties that would fill my 6'8" husband and satisfy my picky palate. I followed the some of the reviewers advice and added a can of tomatoes to the mix (as well as a dash of minced garlic!)and had preseasoned the meat with Lawry's and garlic salt. I was not paying attention and I didn't add the noodles to the mixture, I put the mixture on top of the noodles, and I rather liked this as it made it less casseroley. I also followed the suggestion and added grated cheddar cheese on top of the mix. My husband devoured the ENTIRE meal,except for my serving (so much for leftovers) and has been asking for it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This was a good recipe with a few variations. I added diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup and then I topped the dish with shredded cheddar and swiss cheese. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years, but topped with cheddar cheese. I sometimes throw in a package of onion soup mix for some zip. It's a real family favourite...and now I have a fun name for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I added some herbs and spices and fed this to my Sicilian husband one night when I was late coming home and needed something quick. He loved it so much he raved to his mother about it!! Thanks, its a time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
When I saw that people actually made this I laughed, before we were married, my husband used to make this for his four little kids when he was on his own and broke. Instead of the corn he made it with brown beans and everyone loved it, there was never a lick left in the pot. My husband makes it for me now and I love it as well. I used to laugh at the name, but it sure fit. Thanks for making something so simple shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I made this dish last night. I will admit by the name of it it did not sound very appetiting. But needless to say my family loved it! We will definitly have this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Quick, simple, and filling. A nice weeknight meal. Kid friendly too. I had to add another 1/2 can of soup as it was just too dry otherwise, but this was good and we enjoyed it. This would be great for camping. I added a bit of season all and fresh ground black pepper to the meat. Thanks for a nice hearty meal that we'll probably have again as I always keep those items on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I used everyones ideas and then added my own. I put in the can of chedder cheese, onion flakes, taco seasoning and a can of green chilis, it turned out great, very tasty. I will do this one again:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
This is a good recipe, but my family felt that it needed more tomato soup to give it more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
By itself, I thought this bland, but as a base I thought it great. This time I added taco seasoning and sour cream along with chopped onion and crushed garlic. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States