Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was WONDERFUL! Everyone that tried it loved it, and i even took some to work and let my coworkers try it. It was a hit and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
All the kids loved it. I did add a bit of garlic powder when cooking the meat and I used parm cheese on top for some extra flavor. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Exactly as I remember from childhood! Everyone loved it and all leftovers were eaten, a rarity. It's already been requested again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This dish proved to be a quick and easy way to get dinner on the table tonight! My family all gave it a thumbs up. Of course, I changed it a little to reflect what I had on hand. :+) I used Rotini noodles, which picked up the flavor of the sauce well. I browned the ground beef, onion, garlic salt, and pepper together. Then, I added a can of tomato sauce, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of mushroom soup. (I don't like mushrooms themselves, but like the added flavor the soup gave this dish.) My husband used Parmesan cheese on his plate, but the kids liked it just the way it was. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
That's what this is called? I have been making this for 13 years and I had no clue. This is the fastest cooked meal I make. Paired with salad and bread, fresh or store-bought, its a keeper! Don't forget to add salt and pepper! Our family calls it goulash (which of course is incorrect). We put ketchup on the leftovers. If there ARE leftovers. Huh. I guess if you put tomatoes with pasta and beef, you can never go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Back in the day, we called this American Chop Suey. A favorite of my family, truly a comfort food. We always add a tablespoon of sugar to cut the acid in the tomatoes, and never use mushrooms. Hmmm... I think I'll make it tonight! Thanks for jogging my memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Weitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
My grandmother taught me to make this when I was a little girl...this is truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I've eaten this dish almost my entire life. I always wondered what the real name of it was -- we used to call it macaroni goulash. The only difference is that there are mushrooms added to this one. Reminds of days past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is good and my kids like it. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ Chica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't make this but I was happy to see a recipe name from my childhood!! My dad, who din't cook for us 7 kids often, would make this for us and called is Slumgullion. I always that the name was just something he made up but obviously not! Now that he is gone - this was a very happt reminder of a memory of him from long ago. The recipe sounds similar but I don't think there were mushrooms in it, but then again maybe they were too expensive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States