Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I enjoy a far simpler variant of this recipe. Cook ground beef and add diced onions and green peppers at the end so they remain al dente. Simmer with canned tomatoes. Add elbow macaroni. This was the Slumgullion that I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Cooked this very slowly when all the ingredients were combined. I added 1 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese nd 1 teaspoon of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This dish proved to be a quick and easy way to get dinner on the table tonight! My family all gave it a thumbs up. Of course, I changed it a little to reflect what I had on hand. :+) I used Rotini noodles, which picked up the flavor of the sauce well. I browned the ground beef, onion, garlic salt, and pepper together. Then, I added a can of tomato sauce, a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of mushroom soup. (I don't like mushrooms themselves, but like the added flavor the soup gave this dish.) My husband used Parmesan cheese on his plate, but the kids liked it just the way it was. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My mother used to make slumgullion when we were kids, and I still make it long after she is gone. I thought she made up the name. I am surprised this is so similar. I use spiral macaroni and add green bell pepper (great flavor) to the pan when browning. I empty everything into a large pyrex bowl and bake at 350 for a half hour or 45 min, depending on how much. Great dish, everyone loves it and its so easy. Don't forget to top with romano or parmegan cheese. It brings me right back to my youth every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
All the kids loved it. I did add a bit of garlic powder when cooking the meat and I used parm cheese on top for some extra flavor. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
My grandmother taught me to make this when I was a little girl...this is truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I grew up eating this with a slight modification - my grandmother always added the stewed tomatoes and seasonings (salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little chili powder) plus 2 cups of water at the same time she added the tomato sauce, simmered it for about 15 minutes and then added the dried pasta directly to the meat and tomato sauce. Mamow's method not only seasoned the pasta but thickened the sauce at the same time. We never had mushrooms in our Slumgullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This recipe was simple and fast. The taste was good, not fantastic. My husband and 4 of the kids ate it with parm cheese on top. My 2 picky eaters would not touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was WONDERFUL! Everyone that tried it loved it, and i even took some to work and let my coworkers try it. It was a hit and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I grew up eating Slumgullion. It is quick and easy to make and delicious! The only difference is that in place of the tomato sauce and stewed tomatoes, I add one can of tomato soup, one soup can of water and 1 tablespoon of tomato paste to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States