Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Back in the day, we called this American Chop Suey. A favorite of my family, truly a comfort food. We always add a tablespoon of sugar to cut the acid in the tomatoes, and never use mushrooms. Hmmm... I think I'll make it tonight! Thanks for jogging my memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Weitz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, Maine, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
That's what this is called? I have been making this for 13 years and I had no clue. This is the fastest cooked meal I make. Paired with salad and bread, fresh or store-bought, its a keeper! Don't forget to add salt and pepper! Our family calls it goulash (which of course is incorrect). We put ketchup on the leftovers. If there ARE leftovers. Huh. I guess if you put tomatoes with pasta and beef, you can never go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is an easy and fantastic recipe. The substitutions I make: penne pasta instead of elbow macaroni; two cans of diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes; I add one can of black beans; and I season it with lemon pepper to add a little zip. Also, I do not add the mushrooms. The kids LOVE it, it's easy to make, and the leftovers are always eaten. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocrosby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I didn't make this but I was happy to see a recipe name from my childhood!! My dad, who din't cook for us 7 kids often, would make this for us and called is Slumgullion. I always that the name was just something he made up but obviously not! Now that he is gone - this was a very happt reminder of a memory of him from long ago. The recipe sounds similar but I don't think there were mushrooms in it, but then again maybe they were too expensive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I make a similar version, but because I can't eat basically unccoked onions and peppers, I caramelize them first, then add the ground meat. Also, putting the pasta in uncooked while being sure to add enough liquid saves work. Lots of seasonings, garlic of course, basil, Italian or Mexican seasoning mix, with grated cheese over, makes it flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
One thing not mentioned---this is a budget recipe. You can feed a family with a small amount of ground beef and the rest of the recipe. And kids generally love it; I raised a whole family on this. Not gourmet---but practical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Back in the 50's we used to eat something like this, the difference was we cheddar cheese and 1 can of whole corn and called it American Goulash. When times were hard this was a cheap meal and could feed a big family. I will still add the corn to make it a 1 pan dinner. To the lady from New Zealand who said we didn't have American Goulash - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goulash From Wikipedia here is the section on American Goulash: Australian and North American goulash In Australia, Canada and the United States, various adaptations have made the dish more suitable for local preferences. Minced beef frequently replaces cut beef in the recipe, which reduces the cost as well as the cooking time. The meat and onions are then placed in the pan, the other ingredients are added and the dish might be ready to serve in as little time as 20 to 30 minutes. This goulash is commonly finished by the addition of noodles, pasta, or elbow macaroni. This form of the dish was made popular by its inclusion in popular cookbooks in the early and mid twentieth century, such as Betty Crocker's Cookbook and the Margaret Fulton Cookbook. Goulash is also a slang term in some parts of the United States, particularly the South, for a dish made with miscellaneous left-overs. Noodles or potatoes are usually added thereafter. In parts of New England, Goulash can refer to a pasta dish with ground beef and tomato sauce also known as "American Chop Suey."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I've eaten this dish almost my entire life. I always wondered what the real name of it was -- we used to call it macaroni goulash. The only difference is that there are mushrooms added to this one. Reminds of days past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
All the kids loved it. I did add a bit of garlic powder when cooking the meat and I used parm cheese on top for some extra flavor. It turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
My grandmother taught me to make this when I was a little girl...this is truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States