Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Made this since I was a little girl. A staple of supper fare. Every time I make it the ingredient list varies from the basics as written here. Adds have been sweet pepper chunks,hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, canned beans of all sorts, corn kernals. It is a really good springboard recipe for the adventurous cook! Kid pleaser and they never know they are getting vegetables !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I have made this for my family for years. I just use a can of either tomato soup or cream of mushroom soup added to cooked pasta and browned ground beef. Sometimes I add some sour cream to the mushroom soup if I have it on hand. My children took this recipe first when they moved away from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I know this as "goulash", too. Great recipe because you can add what you like to it and it turns out great every time. You can cut the meat in half and sub half chopped veggies or use a mixture of ground meats like ground beef/ ground turkey/ground sausage. This doubles and triples well. My childhood babysitter always made enough to feed the whole lot of us, with a side of white bread spread with Gold-N-Soft margerine. Total comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because this took me back to my childhood. My grandmother made this on a pretty regular basis but called it Goulash. Edited to add...my grandmothers didn't have mushrooms but onion and green pepper. Being that my grandmother isn't here anymore this really brought back memories! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Almost like a yellowed recipe I clipped from newspaper years ago...called it Johnny Marzetti. I made this for years when my kids were young. Actually, still make once in awhile I always added a can of corn and diced green pepper along with the onion. Everyone liked - also took to many a new mom who asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My mother has always called this American Chop Suey as long as I can remember, and I'm 50 so it's been around a while. Always a hit at home, inexpensive, easy and delish! Makes me want to go hug my Mom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a 'Depression' dish. In our family it's called Goolash but it's exactly the same. To make it healthier, I drain the meat and lightly rinse with hot water. Whole grain noodles or pasta helps too. We love it a little spicier than this so I use 1 large can of diced tomatos AND 1 can of Rotel or the equivilant. My father sprinkled the top of with raw, chopped onions and my husband does the same and adds shredded or shaker cheese. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
always a big hit with the kids!! I didn't make this recipe but I have one I make that's just like this one. I add salt, pepper, Italian seasoning and garlic powder to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I make this when I have left over spagetti sauce/noodles. I have a special spagetti sauce recipe, which in addition includes about 1/4 brown sugar and whole fennel seed (I crunch it a little) to my sauce. And I like to season my ground beef with New York steak seasoning. It gives it a good flavor...I like the seashell pasta idea. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
The slumgullion I used to make had chopped bell peppers and onions, cream of mushroom soup, tomato soup and american cheese added to the ground beef and macaroni. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States