Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I grew up eating this with a slight modification - my grandmother always added the stewed tomatoes and seasonings (salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little chili powder) plus 2 cups of water at the same time she added the tomato sauce, simmered it for about 15 minutes and then added the dried pasta directly to the meat and tomato sauce. Mamow's method not only seasoned the pasta but thickened the sauce at the same time. We never had mushrooms in our Slumgullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My mother used to make slumgullion when we were kids, and I still make it long after she is gone. I thought she made up the name. I am surprised this is so similar. I use spiral macaroni and add green bell pepper (great flavor) to the pan when browning. I empty everything into a large pyrex bowl and bake at 350 for a half hour or 45 min, depending on how much. Great dish, everyone loves it and its so easy. Don't forget to top with romano or parmegan cheese. It brings me right back to my youth every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Add some green pepper and yes....this is goulash! Very fast, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I love this, but know it as "goulash". My stepdad introduced it to us and at first I thought it would be gross but it was wonderful! The only difference is we always used 3 or 4 cans of just tomato soup, no mushroom or stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Have made this dish for many years with very few changes - perhaps different pastas - whatever was in the house. When I was growing up a very long time ago, my folks called it "slopgobble".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Made this since I was a little girl. A staple of supper fare. Every time I make it the ingredient list varies from the basics as written here. Adds have been sweet pepper chunks,hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, canned beans of all sorts, corn kernals. It is a really good springboard recipe for the adventurous cook! Kid pleaser and they never know they are getting vegetables !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I have made this for my family for years. I just use a can of either tomato soup or cream of mushroom soup added to cooked pasta and browned ground beef. Sometimes I add some sour cream to the mushroom soup if I have it on hand. My children took this recipe first when they moved away from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I know this as "goulash", too. Great recipe because you can add what you like to it and it turns out great every time. You can cut the meat in half and sub half chopped veggies or use a mixture of ground meats like ground beef/ ground turkey/ground sausage. This doubles and triples well. My childhood babysitter always made enough to feed the whole lot of us, with a side of white bread spread with Gold-N-Soft margerine. Total comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars because this took me back to my childhood. My grandmother made this on a pretty regular basis but called it Goulash. Edited to add...my grandmothers didn't have mushrooms but onion and green pepper. Being that my grandmother isn't here anymore this really brought back memories! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Almost like a yellowed recipe I clipped from newspaper years ago...called it Johnny Marzetti. I made this for years when my kids were young. Actually, still make once in awhile I always added a can of corn and diced green pepper along with the onion. Everyone liked - also took to many a new mom who asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States