Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Ok this is spaghetti-ish... but not as thick. I did alot of docctoring: used 5 (small to medium) garlic cloves.. took the advice of others and added chili powder and garlic powder.I did use mushrooms and a half of a green bell pepper . I used the spiral pasta. I used 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes. OH YEAH... how could i forget ... you gotta use white cooking wine (added to the simmering sauce) and lastly... a couple dashes of red pepper flakes. DELICIOUS !! per me and my 9 year old.It's a nice break away from spaghetti ... THANKS FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I have made this for YEARS! Except we call it the Swazey special, named after my old friend Gail Swazey's father who said he learned the recipe when he was in the service. My recipe is basic--ground beef, elbow macaroni, onion, a can of tomatoes, a green bell pepper, and, most important--extra sharp cheddar cheese! I use the cheddar cheese "log" from the supermarket--anywhere from half to three quarters of the log. Cut it into small cubes and pop it into the hot meat/tomato/macaroni mixture where it can melt. Delicious comfort food! Does anyone know where the name Slumgullion comes from???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
mim gradma a nd mom made this for years as i still do and s dose my growen daughter but we called it goulash my mom made slungalun but i woud not eat it it was her way of streching golash when you got unexpected compay or leftovers she would add a couple cansof kidney beans to her goulash or macaronnie to her chill and then it fed every one but that was ok mom would never turn away a hungery mouth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I am 68 years old and grew up eating Slumgullion! It's a standby in our family - have a daughter in FL, son in NY, son in OK, son in AK - all make it for their families. We use sweet basil and diced tomatoes - rest of the recipe remains the same. Memories!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is similar to a recipe I use all the time. I add Italian seasonings, shredded mozzarella and parmesan and no mushrooms (family preference). The I put it all in a large casserole, cover and microwave for 10 to 12 minutes for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbiej

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Our family has been making this for generations. I'm from New England stock, we call it "goulash" only we don't add garlic or mushrooms, it's very basic and I love the tomato-iness of it. We always make enough to have leftovers, it's one of the few things we eat with plain white bread and butter just like when we were kids. My granddaughter devours this and would eat it every day if she could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I love this stuff ... I have been making it for many many years ... I thought my mom made up the name for it ... we ate it a lot when we were kids ... great for camping trips ... I add ingredients to taste and depending on what we have on hand ... there are so many things you can do with this recipe... it's fun to play with ... thanks for the wonderful memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a great recipe, although to make more tasty add some seasonings--I add chili powder, cumin, cinnamon, seas. salt, black pepper, chopped celery &/orbell peppers a dash of pancake syrup..ummmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Funnily enough, I made this recipe the other night - but I always add a dessertspoonful of sugar when using tomatoes - and of course, Worcester sauce - just seems to finish it off. Oh, and I don't think there is such a thing as 'American Goulash' - there's only ever been ' Hungarian Goulash', far as I know - adapted for American palates, I suspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeeland55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This has been a standby and comfort food favorite in my family for 3 generations now...each family has their own version but we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States