Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
When my mom made this for us she called it American Chop Suey. I made this with leftover peppers and onions, omitted the mushrooms out of personal preferrence. It was very good and my daughter loved it too. This walk down memory lane is 5 stars. A keeper, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is a keeper! I must admit I made several changes. I followed the recipe exactlly but when I added the 2 cups of tomato sauce it looked very dry, I added a two more cans of tomato sauce. Then added Italian Spices to give more flavor to the sauce. Being somewhat lazy and liking to cook most things in as few pot and pans as necessary I add a can of peas and corn, minus the juices. Also added a few extra teaspoons of minced garlic. I followed a suggestion and cooked the beef with a table spoon of Worcestershire Sauce. Ya'll keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Didn't taste bad but surely had no flavor! I followed the recipe exactly as directed and the end result had very little sauce to cover the 16oz of macaroni the recipe calls for. Might have tasted better if I only used 8oz of pasta and some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Its pretty good. Not memorable, but easy enough for babysitter night. We've made it as written & with changes. The babysitter now makes it extremely simple with just macaroni, beef, onion & tomato soup. Very versatile & a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. It does not get any easier than this. I substituted diced tomatoes for stewed tomatoes because it is what I had on hand. The leftovers are even better! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Great recipe the only thing I changed was I used mac and cheese instead of plain mac turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I learned a similar recipe called Marzetti which was a skillet macaroni and beef recipe as follows: 1-1.2 lbs beef * I use ground turkey now 2 Tablespoons veg oil 1/2 lb uncooked elbow macaroni 1/2 cup minced onion 1/2 cup chopped green pepper 1 8oz cans tomato sauce 1 cup water salt & pepper to taste 1-1/2 Tblspns Worcestershire Sauce Lightly brown beef in skillet. Remove from skillet. In same skillit cook macaroni, green pepper in meat fat until onion is soft. Return meat to skillet. Add tomato sauce, water, salt, pepper and Worcestershire Sauce. Cover and simmer for 25 minutes or until macaroni is cooked to taste. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Very tasty. Some changes I made due to what I had on hand: Whole wheat fusilli pasta; used 8 oz. and I will use less next time I make it. Rotel tomatoes with chilies. Garlic powder, no fresh or jarred on hand. Fresh mushrooms, sauteed with olive oil and some of the garlic powder before browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Seeing this recipe brought tears to my eyes! It was something my Mother use to make minus the mushrooms. I always thought she made up the name! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ovenmitt2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Leave out the mushrooms, add a pinch of basil, I added a little extra garlic to the ground beef as it browned and garnished with a little parmesean & mozarella prior to serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States