Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My son didn't like it. He said it tasted too tomatoy. I heated the left over in the over with a dash of water and it came ot better tasting than the first day. I added several Italian white cheeses and hot pepper flakes to give it more taste. I will not make this again, but we will finish the leftovers as a side dish with a meat course even though it has meat already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight, but cut the recipe in half. I did put a 14.5 ounce can of stewed tomatoes in it, because that is the only size I could find. It turned out very tasteless and my husband and I started trying to figure out what was missing that we could add to give it some flavor. Would not make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was the best Slumgullion I have made in a very long time..the seasonings were perfect. I will be making this for a potlock tomorrow...I wills take a litle out for us at home as i know it will be all gone at the potluck. My husband loved it too..I didn't add the mushrooms as we don't eat them. Loved it.. 5 stars for sure.... Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
When my mom made this for us she called it American Chop Suey. I made this with leftover peppers and onions, omitted the mushrooms out of personal preferrence. It was very good and my daughter loved it too. This walk down memory lane is 5 stars. A keeper, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is a keeper! I must admit I made several changes. I followed the recipe exactlly but when I added the 2 cups of tomato sauce it looked very dry, I added a two more cans of tomato sauce. Then added Italian Spices to give more flavor to the sauce. Being somewhat lazy and liking to cook most things in as few pot and pans as necessary I add a can of peas and corn, minus the juices. Also added a few extra teaspoons of minced garlic. I followed a suggestion and cooked the beef with a table spoon of Worcestershire Sauce. Ya'll keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Didn't taste bad but surely had no flavor! I followed the recipe exactly as directed and the end result had very little sauce to cover the 16oz of macaroni the recipe calls for. Might have tasted better if I only used 8oz of pasta and some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Its pretty good. Not memorable, but easy enough for babysitter night. We've made it as written & with changes. The babysitter now makes it extremely simple with just macaroni, beef, onion & tomato soup. Very versatile & a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. It does not get any easier than this. I substituted diced tomatoes for stewed tomatoes because it is what I had on hand. The leftovers are even better! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Great recipe the only thing I changed was I used mac and cheese instead of plain mac turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I learned a similar recipe called Marzetti which was a skillet macaroni and beef recipe as follows: 1-1.2 lbs beef * I use ground turkey now 2 Tablespoons veg oil 1/2 lb uncooked elbow macaroni 1/2 cup minced onion 1/2 cup chopped green pepper 1 8oz cans tomato sauce 1 cup water salt & pepper to taste 1-1/2 Tblspns Worcestershire Sauce Lightly brown beef in skillet. Remove from skillet. In same skillit cook macaroni, green pepper in meat fat until onion is soft. Return meat to skillet. Add tomato sauce, water, salt, pepper and Worcestershire Sauce. Cover and simmer for 25 minutes or until macaroni is cooked to taste. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States