Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Followed the recipe and this turned out breath. Very easy to make. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Hatter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I remember this dish as a child, 9th of 10 children. lots of times we didn't have enough to go around, My mother was a wonderful cook and had lots of ideas, she once feed all of us on one pork chop, and surprisingly we got full. Slumgulliion was one of those dishes. Cal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Yummy and quick to the table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a lot like something my Mom makes. She puts brown sugar in her so I added about 2 TBS to mine and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Homemade hamburger helper that tastes so much better. Add grated cheese while it is hot and you have a whole other dimension to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I cheated and used stewed tomatoes with basil & oregano. I also added red pepper flakes and Worcestershire sauce to the meat. Instead of cooking the pasta separately, I added some water and chicken broth to the tomato sauce/meat/tomato mixture, brought it to a boil, and just threw the uncooked pasta in there. It was delicious! Kind of like Hamburger Helper, but, you know... it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was a hit with my family. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe for a simple, quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glyndas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Quick and easy, and everyone liked it. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
The recipe and the result were fine. I made this mainly because of the name, which I hadn't heard since childhood ! My dad was a soldier in WWI. He survived from the trenches in France, and came home in 1919 on a troopship.The cooks had to feed several hundred young men every day on a long voyage, and they did it with a mixture of ingredients called slumgullion. Occasionally, years later, Dad would recall eating "slum" every day on the ship. He wouldn't eat anything like that any more. I had not heard the name in about 70 years !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Was bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

A meaty, creamy, pasta dish with mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States