Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Full five stars, for simplicity! I love simple recipes. I'm nearly done cooking this now. I had to halve it (the original recipe is just far too much food for the three of us), and I tossed in some chopped bell peppers as well, since my hubby likes them, and this is the sort of recipe that's easy to experiment with. It smells delicious, and there's no way that it won't taste as good as it smells. Note: I just learned that in a pinch (we just moved and don't have all the necessities), you can brown ground beef in a pot. It actually works better than a skillet. Food for thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I gave it 4 stars because I had to tweak a little. Added beef base, worcestershire, parmesan cheese and sugar to cut the acidity taste of the tomatoes. Some basil for seasoning. Only used 1-1/2 c of tomato sauce and 8 oz of macaroni. Very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I had leftover prego spaghetti sauce so I used it instead of the tomato sauce. Great served sprinkled with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emery, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was a fast, easy recipe to make in a hurry. Start to finish only took about 25 minutes. I added some garlic salt, in addition to the minced garlic and also added some green peppers, as suggested by other reviewers. Topped it with a little shredded cheddar and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Like my mom made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madill, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Jersey Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
It was very good, just a little bland. I don't think there's anything to really do about that; it's more of a preference than anything. I used ziti instead of macaroni pasta just because that's what I had at home! Great recipe, awesome for a cold winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rieper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Makes a TON of food so it's great for leftovers smothered in cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
With the changes I made, this was a five star recipe. I cut the recipe in half, but based on other reviews, I still used 1 can tomato sauce and a whole can of stewed tomatoes for the sauce. This is what I did. I cooked 8 oz. pasta in water and browned my beef in a skillet. I have an onion hater, and a garlic hater, so I used powdered of both so they wouldn't know it was in there. :) I added a few spices to the mix, since there were many complaints of blandness-McCormick Grill seasoning, basil, a bit of brown sugar. I simmered the spices, beef and tomatos until the macaroni was done which ended up taking 20 minutes. I'm glad it took so long, though, because it gave the stewed tomatoes a chance to break down a bit. My kids gobbled this up. Even my husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This did not have enough tomato sauce and/or had too much pasta. It was a little to much like Hamburger Helper, with less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was really easy to make and my kids liked it. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of mushrooms on the suggestion of another reviewer and it really did make it tasty and tangy. A tsp of sweet basil is a nice touch, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States