Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have made this recipe so very many times!! However, instead of tomato sauce, I use tomato SOUP!! I also prefer to use egg noodles instead of the macaroni. Using the soup instead of the sauce gives it a little more depth in the flavor and it seems to come out a bit creamier. I also tend to use either ground turkey or ground chicken when I make this, to cut down on the fat. I also add some extra Italian Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this without the noodles and poured it over rice. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacques Byrd
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Like mom used to make. I substituted bell pepper for mushrooms only because that was the way I remembered it tasting. Great recipe fast cheap and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacques Byrd
Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Nana made this oh so long ago..I wasn't a fan of it much when I was a kid,but my tastes have changed in my seniority.I tweaked it a bit for my taste buds.Added green pepper,left out the mushrooms and added a little chili powder and basil.Also added the parm cheese at the end.I think it tastes mighty good now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love this recipe! I first heard of it while watching an old movie. I didn't have the mushrooms so I added chopped sweet red peppers and a little cream for richness. Yummy! I am making it again tonight. It is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
my Mother (she would have ben 90 now) and my Grandmother (she would have ben 136 now) fixed this when I was a kid ,no mushrooms,and boy was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is so easy and comfort food at its best. When I lived in Kansas City it was made layering 1 Cup of shredded cheddar cheese on top to melt before serving. Either way it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A really great recipe for something fast and easy. I made it as prompted (excluding the mushrooms since my boyfriend positively abhors them) and while I had no complaints I would like to try to saute the garlic and onions first, then brown the meat, instead of how its instructed. Both overall a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My grandfather used to make a version using sliced wieners and a bit of canned corn (no beef or mushrooms). I've been looking for that recipe. Anyone familiar with it?? Also, I always thought the name "slumgullion" was something he made up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nolensville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I found it to pretty pretty tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Gluten Free Elbows Soup

Mushrooms, Italian sausage, and elbow pasta make a hearty, satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States