Slow and Easy Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is perfect for a healthy, no-frills stock. When done cooking, let cool slightly then pour into ice cube trays and freeze. Much easier for portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Julian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Thank you for the clearinstructions. I have always wanted to be able to make this, and I agree that the pure beef flavor makes the most useful and versatile stock. Since today's slow cookers are set at a higher temperature than the ones originally made, it is nw perfectly possible to make this stock in one of them from start to finish. I buy beef bones from an Asian market (in case you can't find them in hyour supermarket).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is a purist's dream beef stock. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I made this and it's absolutely divine! I could get beef bones at my local grocery store that has the best meat next to a butcher which we don't have in our small town. I split the bones up into five pound packages and used two large crock pots and it turned out perfectly. I froze it in small portions, popped it out and stored it in large zip top bags. When I wanted it I just reached in and got what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love this, looks like its a pain to make - but so much more healthy. Look at the sodium content on canned or boxed stocks, this has much more flavour and you get a whole lot which is easy to freeze for later use. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This recipe is indeed easy, but it is time consuming! If you want to do this on a weekend, start on Friday night, after dinner. I had to interrupt the cooking time because I didn't start until Saturday morning. It didn't hurt a thing, in fact it probably helped me manage it, because refrigerating it after removing bones and straining allowed the fat to congeal, for easy removal. Also, bonus: my strainer did not get the finer particles out, which I discovered after refrigeration. They settled to the bottom, and I was able to remove before the final reduction. Beautiful, healthy beef stock with a surprisingly good color. I think next time I will roast the bones prior to simmering, for an even deeper color and flavor. Thanks for your clear instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is how I make my stock. The only thing I do different is to roast them for an hour at 350 degrees first. I also put cheesecloth over my strainer and that helps catch all those fine particles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I love the simplicity of this recipe and plan to make it soon, but was wondering if anyone could tell me how they actually cut the bones into smaller pieces. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
to answer Chris Lidberg's question; the bones are usualy sold at the market cut into managable pieces, but you can always ask the buther/meat department to cut them up for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I went out and bought bones and just started it. To Chris Lidberg, the butcher uses a saw to cut the bones up. My name brand grocery stores don't do actually butchering anymore; their stuff comes prepacked. I went to the carneceria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States