Slow and Easy Beef Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is a purist's dream beef stock. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love this, looks like its a pain to make - but so much more healthy. Look at the sodium content on canned or boxed stocks, this has much more flavour and you get a whole lot which is easy to freeze for later use. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Thank you for the clearinstructions. I have always wanted to be able to make this, and I agree that the pure beef flavor makes the most useful and versatile stock. Since today's slow cookers are set at a higher temperature than the ones originally made, it is nw perfectly possible to make this stock in one of them from start to finish. I buy beef bones from an Asian market (in case you can't find them in hyour supermarket).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This is how I make my stock. The only thing I do different is to roast them for an hour at 350 degrees first. I also put cheesecloth over my strainer and that helps catch all those fine particles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This recipe is indeed easy, but it is time consuming! If you want to do this on a weekend, start on Friday night, after dinner. I had to interrupt the cooking time because I didn't start until Saturday morning. It didn't hurt a thing, in fact it probably helped me manage it, because refrigerating it after removing bones and straining allowed the fat to congeal, for easy removal. Also, bonus: my strainer did not get the finer particles out, which I discovered after refrigeration. They settled to the bottom, and I was able to remove before the final reduction. Beautiful, healthy beef stock with a surprisingly good color. I think next time I will roast the bones prior to simmering, for an even deeper color and flavor. Thanks for your clear instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is perfect for a healthy, no-frills stock. When done cooking, let cool slightly then pour into ice cube trays and freeze. Much easier for portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Julian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I went out and bought bones and just started it. To Chris Lidberg, the butcher uses a saw to cut the bones up. My name brand grocery stores don't do actually butchering anymore; their stuff comes prepacked. I went to the carneceria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I made this and it's absolutely divine! I could get beef bones at my local grocery store that has the best meat next to a butcher which we don't have in our small town. I split the bones up into five pound packages and used two large crock pots and it turned out perfectly. I froze it in small portions, popped it out and stored it in large zip top bags. When I wanted it I just reached in and got what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Made a great beef stock. Roasted the bones and veggies first for two hours then put everything in stock pot and went to town. Instead of freezing I canned them for later usage canned makes them last longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Do know how much 10 pounds beef soup bones, costs cut into pieces. Cost me $1.39 per pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States