Slow-Roasted Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
My Dad taught me this technique in the early 70s, and he called it "Hotel Roast Beef" because he thought it tasted as good or better than anything he ate while on business travels. He was way ahead of his time! Another trick..if your roast is frozen, just take off the wrapping, put it in a roasting pan (one with a rack is best) in the oven at lowest temp possible (usually 170) first thing in the morning and it will be perfectly done at the end of your work day! Tastes much better than a crock pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I had made this when it was a personal recipe and WOW!! I've never made an eye roast of beef that was ever this good, even DH commented how moist and tender it was. Method and instructions are well noted. We had some for dinner and are looking forward to sandwiches with the leftovers. Now I want to buy a meat slicer (I sliced it as thin and evenly as I could) because I know I will make this often. Thanks bd.weld! *** Note: my oven has a probe and once it reaches the temp set for the probe it turns off and so does the probe reading. so I would not have to open my oven door I had to turn my oven back on to the lowest setting and then program the probe to 140 degees (for medium) so I could get a temp reading but would then turn it right back off, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Perfect! Absolutely, positively the BEST method for tender, juicy beef or pork. Awesome recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this with us bd.weld. The meat is tender, juicy and just perfect. I have a newer electric oven that vents too fast so I had to improvise - I cooked to 120 then I turned the oven to 170 - it's lowest setting and cooked until the internal temp was almost 130 - then turned off the oven and let it finish. Perfect! Thanks for sharing. UPDATE: I used this same method for pork loin - It was great! Perfectly cooked - fork tender and juicy. I wanted the final product to be 145 - my newer electric oven vents way too fast to shut it off entirely. Lesson learned - next time I will cook to 140 -142 and then shut it down and let it continue to come to the desired 145. I can't imagine making a better roast. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Followed the directions for medium. Took out,of over at 135 degrees, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
When I saw the cooking method on this one, I knew I had to try it! My roast was 3.5 lbs. just as called for. I seared it for 4 minutes on each side. I used a remote digital thermometer, which was perfect for this. It took my roast 1 hour and 30 minutes to get to 115 degrees, and another 43 minutes to get to 130 degrees. I allowed it to rest for 15 minutes, for a total time of 2 hours and 28 minutes. I left the thermometer in and interestingly the roast only rose to 131 degrees during the 15 minutes of resting. I was concerned it would be too rare but it was perfectly medium rare with a lovely pink center throughout! I am delighted with this new method of cooking a roast and I’m anxious to try it on beef tenderloin. Thank you bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Spot on! Absolutely perfectly roasted beef. I can't wait to try this roasting technique with other rubs (like olive oil, fresh garlic & rosemary like my hubby does his prime rib). So good, my 13 year old son was stealing it right off of the slicer, and my dog was at my heals waiting for something to drop (LOL)! I used this to make Herdez Drowned Beef Sandwiches (also from this site). Win-Win recipe combo! Thanks bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Caught a bottom round on special for 1.99 lb so knowing that Central Market uses bottom round for their in house roast beef at 9.99 lb I decided to go for it. I used a center cut and trimmed and tied it for even cooking. I used sea salt this time and added 1 t each of onion and garlic powder. I rinsed that off after the overnight then seared and added cracked pepper and Herbs de Provence. The bottom round was not quite as tender and juicy but it was good enough to be delicious all the same and a bargain to boot. LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
If you are looking for meat for sandwiches, you need look no further! This method of cooking is the bomb! I did purchase the thermometer the author of this recipe mentions, and it works just perfectly! I cooked an eye of the round roast from Costco, but you could use any cut for this. I turned off the oven when the meat reached 115, and when the temperature got to 130 I took it out. The meat was perfect for me, but my hubby and daughter both wanted it done just a little more, so I'll play around with that with the next roast. We ate it like a roast the first night, but now tonight we'll be having sandwiches. I don't have a meat slicer, but I was able to get it cut thin enough with a sharp knife. I'll do a horseradish sauce to go with the sandwiches (we love Frozen Horseradish Sauce from this site)! I can hardly wait! Thanks, bd.weld!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Reviewed on May 8, 2012 when this was a personal recipe: Fantastic! Followed the directions exactly, My oven has a plug in temp gauge but it does not continue to work once the set temp has been reached so I used a manual gauge as well. This took me to exactly 140 degrees. I let it rest a full 30 minutes and proceeded to slice into a perfectly cooked roast. I usually do the high temp recipe, here on AR, but BD's recipe allowed me to be more exact internal temperature. I seared my roast in a cast iron pan and deglazed with some Merlot wine I then served over the roast. I made two roasts so I can use the 2nd one for steak sandwiches later in the week. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Will definitely be using again! 3/27/13**** This is a go to recipe for me. I have used it several times with continued success.****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Love, love love this simple roast beef. This is a go to recipe that I use for sandwich meats. This is especially good for french dip sandwiches. Superior to anything you get in a deli and much cheaper too! I bring the second temperature to 128 because we prefer it on the rare side. Thanks for sharing bd weld
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States