Slow Drunk Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
i liked it ok but loved it after i made some changes. first i left out the oil and water as they were not needed. i poured 1/4 of the beer in a glass oven pan then 1/4 can of chicken broth to follow. then placed the chicken in the pan surrounding it with red potatoes(quartered), baby carrots, and half an onion (sliced), poured the remaining beer and both over it all. then i seasoned the chicken and vegetables with pepper, garlic powder, seasoned salt and zatarans. then i zested the orange on top of the chicken, poked holes in the orange then put it in the opening. i followed the baking instructions and it came out awesome, although the vegetables may need to cook a little longer(remove chicken and cover, cook veggies 15 mins at 450 for electric oven) its a must have at least twice a month in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I make Roasted Chicken all the time and this recipe was boring and really had no taste. With the two temperture changes, and it being covered the first hr., it did come out moist. Moist is always good but, bland is not. For those who have not tried this yet,,,add some spices of your choice and I'm sure it would get a better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I love chicken. Never tried a chicken recipe I didn't like, but I "loved" this one. All I added were 2 tsps. of minced fresh rosemary. 1 on the chicken and 1 on the vegi's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bushman

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by QueenMacAnnie
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Making it again tomorrow night - my husband loves it and it makes great sandwiches too. IMPORTANT NOTE... I have tried this recipe with different lager's and it makes a BIG difference in the taste. You need to use a lager with "bite" too it - if you can not find Fosters® then the green bottles usually work and are easier to find in the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMacAnnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A bit bland even though I noticed the other reviews and added fresh rosemary, oregano and sage. And it needed way more salt and pepper than I thought. I used Blue Moon beer which goes really well with orange and I thought that aspect turned out pretty good. Tasty, but add seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I liked this recipe, but not much flavor right away. It tasted better the next day. Next time will try adding more spices, but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I have to admit...I never liked mixing fruit with meat, but thought I would give this one a go. Very moist but also bland with the exception of the very slight sweetness from both the lager and the orange. This one is not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CkretsGalore
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Like many others I added fresh herbs (Sage/Rosemary/Thyme) for a bit more flavour. We stuck with the oil as it increases the browning. To stick with an October/Halloween theme we used "Vampire Maple Lager!" It was quite strong to drink but for this chicken it was superb. We will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CkretsGalore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used a lemon instead of an orange and zested it first for coating the outside of the bird. I also used a hefeweizen instead of lager (lemon and hef is a natural combo) I also threw in some sweet potatoes instead of carrots and used boxed chicken stock instead of the bouillon cube. I would recommend a cast iron dutch oven as the cooking vessel if you have it. It works really well for this sort of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was amazing. My husband thought it was the best chicken I've ever made. It was really easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States