Slow Cooker Wild Chicken & Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I love soup and this one was great. Made as recipe said and it was wonderful. Served at family night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This recipe is so yummy. My family really enjoyed this. The soup tasted so good without the whipping cream, so if you don't want to add the cream you don't have to. I didn't have wild rice so I used basmati rice, but you have to cook the rice first...i found that out the hard way. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe really only produces a 3 star soup unless you make some modifications. The following changes produce a really good soup, though still not 5 stars... I wanted to be sure the rice cooked, so I turned the crock pot on low overnight rather than the 4 hours suggested. (The other reviewers said the rice didn't cook well enough in that amount of time. Mine cooked about 8 hours, I think it would have been done an hour or two before I woke, but it still turned out fine letting it go so I could get a full 8 hours of sleep.) I couldn't bring myself to add the flour to the cream the way the author suggested, so I used some butter and made a roux. I added the cream and a little sherry to the roux, and then added that mixture back in the crock pot. This recipe is not very flavorful and it tasted a lot better when I added garlic powder, cayenne pepper (just enough to make it warm, not enough to bite), and quite a bit of sage. Then I had a soup worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
very nice. added: sage and garlic as per earlier post. cooked 6 hours and the wild rice was fine if not a bit overcooked. still, all enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
My family gave this recipe a "3". I don't eat meat, but they indicated that the chicken was dry (maybe from needing to cook the rice so long). I would suggest cooking the rice for awhile before adding in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe! Perfect for a cold winter evening. I modified it a bit, I sauteed 2 carrots and half an onion in Extra Virgin Olive Oil and rosemary before adding them to the soup as well as using milk instead of heavy cream....it thikens just perfectly if you let it simmer on Low for 1/2 to 1 hour. I served it in bread bowls and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pyrette
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I followed the recipe and it turned out great. My whole family loved it. I would back off on the onion slightly and add a bit more wild rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I used milk in place of cream, thickening it with cornstarch, but I wasn't happy with the results. It was too watery. Next time I will try it using cream. It had a great flavor and was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
A wonderful soup for wild rice lovers, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States