Slow Cooker White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe! It was different than most white chilis I have had in the past and I actually liked it better. The use of the green salsa gave it a nice depth of flavor. Make sure when you are buying your green salsa you buy the salsa verde. There is also a green salsa in my store that I buy that is a pureed jalapeno salsa and is really spicy and a little bitter. The salsa verde is slightly spicy and has a nice tang from the tomatillas. I used yellow corn instead of white - but, otherwise made according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Delicious! I added a can of black beans and used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a fresh one. I also omitted the cilantro because I don't care for it. Very good and seems healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My husband and I loved it I made half the recipe and then we wished I had made more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this soup thinking that it would be good, but not great. Boy was I wrong. This soup was packed with flavor. The green salsa (I used medium) and green chilies really add a lot to the broth and taste of this recipe. The one change I made was to add a half opened can of black beans to the mix, so that I could use them up. My DH & DS added some jalapeño salsa to theirs to kick the heat up to another notch. We all enjoyed this for dinner with a piece of homemade bread and everyone was happy that we had enough for leftovers. I did make this on the stovetop in a stockpot rather than the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Really, really good! Instead of using cooked chicken, I put a couple raw chicken breasts in with the broth and lime juice and cooked on low for about 5 hours. I then shredded it and added the rest of the ingredients (added some sliced zucchini) for about 1.5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rrkalina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a really good white chili, albeit very different. I really liked the cilantro and lime flavors. Since fresh tomatoes looked terrible, I used a can of diced tomatoes, drained, instead. It's easy, quick, and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved it! Making it again today. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Delicious! Has great texture. Took another's suggestion and used raw chicken. Cooked it for 5 hours w the lemon juice, chicken broth, and twice the lime. Added the rest of the ingredients (diced tomatoes instead of fresh) plus white beans and extra corn, then cooked for another hour. Was superior to my first batch. I like the idea of adding zucchini as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have been looking for vegan recipes, so I decided to try this one, but leaving out the chicken. I also experimented using a can of hominy, instead of corn. I just used regular salsa, as that is all I had on hand. The lemon juice and lime juice really bring out the flavors. I like this a lot, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was a little worried about flavor with the lack of spice ingredients, but it is delicious and amazingly simple. We cooked thighs instead of breasts...deboned, salt/pepper, in a pan with oil and a bit of lemon juice. Other than that...followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States