Slow Cooker White Chili with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I haven't tried this yet but for those who think there is too much liquid - you did NOT follow the recipe - it calls for DRIED beans not canned ones. If you use canned beans they are already cooked and you need to reduce the cooking liquid - in this case the chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
It was simple and easy to make. It was also delicious. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Pretty good, though it needs some type of acid. We didn't put the tomatoes on top, so that might have helped. Also think it might be nice to add some frozen corn. We added a splash of heavy cream since we had it on hand, and topped with cilantro and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I loved it, better than red chili not a real strong flavor. I did add jalapenos and green chilis to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I thought it was one of the best slow cooker white chili recipes I've tasted. I'm a hunter, and I had a couple of pheasants left in the freezer, so I used them instead of going out to buy chicken. I forgot to get fresh cilantro, so I used some dried. The pheasant really worked well. The next time I make this I'm going to use a couple of wild turkey thighs and drumsticks, which usually end up as a soup ingredient. I thought the cheese enhanced the recipe, but I also had some without and didn't miss it. The only seasoning I added was a little salt to my bowl after dishing it up. I can't wait to make it again. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Good! Used dried pinto beans because thats what I had in the pantry. Doubled. Add 2 garlic cloves (or minced) 1t cilantro, can of rotel, Tony's, chili powder, 1t salt, 1/2t pepper and little extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe just like it was except I added 2 cans of fire roasted green chili's and then the entire jalapeno. About 30 minutes before it was finished I mixed 2 T cornstarch with some of the hot liquid, mixed well and added that back into the soup to cook for the last 30 minutes. This gives it the perfect consistancy in my opion. It was a big hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I used the ingredients as listed (dry beans/not canned). I cooked it on low for 8 hours. It was pretty flavorless and a very soupy mixture of beans and dry chicken. Not dense at all. I don't know what went wrong but I'm extremely disappointed. Do you think maybe I let the beans soak too long in the water overnight? Perhaps that's why the beans didn't soak up enough of the broth, i don't know :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Potential
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I like the fundamental idea behind this recipe, but it came out extremely bland. Next time I will add more jalapenos, salt, hot pepper sauce, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States