Slow Cooker White Chili with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I was looking for a slow cooker white chili recipe, and I found a great one in this! I doubled it (my bag of beans was 1 lb, so it just worked better). I used two garlic cloves (crushed) instead of garlic powder, and about a tsp of dried cilantro as I didn't have any fresh. I started out with just the jalapeno that's called for, but at my taste-test partway through cooking, it was super bland, so I added two cans (4 oz each) of diced green chiles and a pinch of red pepper flakes (the recipe notes mention additional peppers and I definitely agree!!). Even with those additions, it had just a touch of kick. If my toddlers weren't eating it with us, I'd probably add still more heat. Also per the recipe notes, I put in half of the cumin at the beginning and half at the end, so it wouldn't get lost during the 8-hour slow cooking. The only other slight adjustment I made was to use my immersion blender a little bit while I had the chicken out to shred. That thickened up the chili just enough to my liking. (I also added about 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp black pepper towards the end, as the chicken stock I used was unsalted.) The end result was delicious, and was enjoyed by me, my husband, and our 1- and 3-year-olds! I'm very happy to have this chili to add to my winter meals rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
it was a good start. i added fresh garlic, salt, pepper and more cumin. than topped it with cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made it last night and the only issue I had was that it calls for way too much liquid. I used one can of white beans and next time would add a 2nd can. I will probably also put one of the cans in the food processor and then add it to make the chili thicker. It's delicious but basically soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I think the reason some folks found this recipe too soupy is because they used canned beans instead of dried beans. If using canned you could use a lot less stock. I added more heat, too, but this is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
jgrollman, did you use 'dried' beans and then add a can of beans at a later time or simply used only canned? I ask because dried beans will definitely soak up the extra liquid called for. If you did not use dried please do try the recipe again because it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Good recipe. Served in bowls over brown rice, with Mexican shredded cheese, diced tomatoes and sour cream. Next time, however, must spice it up....tastes way too bland without adding some more Mexican spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
its good but needs green chili's to make it a true chili ... add a couple cans and it is much better I also add 1-2 more jalapenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Distilled1
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipie was very easy to put together and hearty on a cold evening! I garnished with fresh tomatoes, cilantro, shredded cheese, & sour cream and used flour tortillas for dipping. I will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very tasty. I made this exactly as written except for using an entire jalapeño (just right as far as heat goes). Still, as a few others pointed out, too much liquid! This had nothing to do with the beans, since I used dried beans not canned. My solution was to add some wild rice at the end...! Let that cook about 30 minutes on high in the slow cooker with a touch more cumin. Definitely a keeper recipe for all my family/critics!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Agree with jgrollman - it came out like soup not chili. I thought it was soupy when I put it all in the crockpot but figured it'd reduce while cooking. Well, 8 hrs later on low and exact same consistency - very disappointing for me as I was looking for a chili not a soup. I'd say half the liquid and double the beans for the desired consistency, or pure some of the beans and add back in. I am not sure what I will do with my crock of bean soup. The dog is hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States