Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Loved the variation with hash browns - hadn't tried that before. Omitted the onions and peppers due to finicky children and included ham, sausage and bacon. Took to a school class breakfast and it was gone in no time and had several ask for recipe! I made 1 1/2 recipes and it filled the the 5 qt crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
after reading this recipe 5 years ago, I suggested to our chamber of commerce director we do this for our food booth at the annual Senior Pro Rodeo only make it as a filling for breakfast burritos. Our booth is there only for the participants. We have to have the coffee hot and donuts fresh at 7:30 in the morning, because they are getting ready to go through their trials for the nights line-up. I found this and tweaked it for 50 servings, substituted cooked, ground sausage for ham, nixed the bell pepper, bought flour tortillas,salsa and extra shredded cheese. We cook this overnight at home, bring the crockpot to the food booth and assemble to make breakfast burritos. We take a tortilla, a decent serving of the omelet, an extra sprinkle of cheese, wrap up individually in foil, and lay them in another crockpot that has a damp towel at the bottom. the damp towel keeps everything steamy hot. as they are bought, they put their own salsa on. We made them in 25 serving batches.(Two smaller crockpots) word spread quickly we had something better than donuts. we have sold out every year after the 1st year (once they found out) we also found the second morning (after the first nights show, afterwards they went into town for the dance and drank alot) we sold out faster on the second morning than the first morning. so we didn't make as much the first morning, and had more for the second morning. it is not labor intensive, and we 3 volunteers get together the night before the rodeo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Love the versatility of this recipe! Have made this recipe several times at the request of my co-workers. I have tweaked it each time depending on what type of group I was serving. Have used browned italian sausage (mild to spicy), pre-cubed ham and even bacon. For ease, frozen chopped onions/green peppers and for color, yellow/red peppers. Used shredded mexi-cheese for a spicier taste or four-cheese blends for a mild one. In the eggs, I added dry mixed italian seasonings, chopped garlic and a dash of dijon mustard. Cooked just fine at about 11 hours on low. For sides, I have served it with hot sauce, fresh salsa or pico de gallo, sour cream and more shredded cheese so people could season it more if they liked. Haven't had a complaint on it yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I'm giving this five stars based on the following changes: Don't cook it in the crockpot. I use a 9x13 pan (can prepare the night before and stick in the fridge, then pop into a 375 degree oven until the eggs are set). I also use bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled, instead of the ham. I wait and put the cheese on top at the end of the cook time. It *will taste bland* unless you salt and pepper it - you have to remember there are a dozen eggs in here plus the hash brown potatoes, neither of which has any seasoning. I am normally light-handed with salt, and prefer to let each person adjust seasonings on their plate. I also hardly ever use the full dozen eggs - I cut it down to 6 to 8 depending on how many people I'm feeding. It WILL stick to the pan unless you spray it VERY well, or you could use parchment paper on the bottom for quicker cleanup. As this recipe is originally written, I can understand why there have been so many unhappy reviews. With some tweaking, this is can be a very good recipe which is easy for breakfast if you assemble the night before. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Loved it. Simple and my whole family took 2nd helpings. Several people have asked me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
this is very good i added a little more spice. jo Patrick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I've made this recipe for at least the last 4 years on Christmas morning--we love it! Sometimes I add sausage, and sometimes I make 2 different kinds. I don't typically like baked egg dishes, but this recipe always comes out great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Fantastic recipe, and oh so easy! I made this for an office breakfast get-together, and got rave reviews and more than a few requests for the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this last night just so we could have a lazy morning today and I am glad I did. I did use the crock pot liner which will help with clean up. The only "problem" I encountered was a little grease at the top from all the cheese. I removed that with a paper towel and all was well. I will add more seasonings next time just to pump up the overall flavor. It is a good base recipe that you can tweak to make to your own likings.Green chilies would be great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
What a great smell to wake up to Christmas morning! The whole family loved it - husband, kids 12, 10 and 3 1/2! Will be a new holiday tradition at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States