Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
after reading this recipe 5 years ago, I suggested to our chamber of commerce director we do this for our food booth at the annual Senior Pro Rodeo only make it as a filling for breakfast burritos. Our booth is there only for the participants. We have to have the coffee hot and donuts fresh at 7:30 in the morning, because they are getting ready to go through their trials for the nights line-up. I found this and tweaked it for 50 servings, substituted cooked, ground sausage for ham, nixed the bell pepper, bought flour tortillas,salsa and extra shredded cheese. We cook this overnight at home, bring the crockpot to the food booth and assemble to make breakfast burritos. We take a tortilla, a decent serving of the omelet, an extra sprinkle of cheese, wrap up individually in foil, and lay them in another crockpot that has a damp towel at the bottom. the damp towel keeps everything steamy hot. as they are bought, they put their own salsa on. We made them in 25 serving batches.(Two smaller crockpots) word spread quickly we had something better than donuts. we have sold out every year after the 1st year (once they found out) we also found the second morning (after the first nights show, afterwards they went into town for the dance and drank alot) we sold out faster on the second morning than the first morning. so we didn't make as much the first morning, and had more for the second morning. it is not labor intensive, and we 3 volunteers get together the night before the rodeo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Love the versatility of this recipe! Have made this recipe several times at the request of my co-workers. I have tweaked it each time depending on what type of group I was serving. Have used browned italian sausage (mild to spicy), pre-cubed ham and even bacon. For ease, frozen chopped onions/green peppers and for color, yellow/red peppers. Used shredded mexi-cheese for a spicier taste or four-cheese blends for a mild one. In the eggs, I added dry mixed italian seasonings, chopped garlic and a dash of dijon mustard. Cooked just fine at about 11 hours on low. For sides, I have served it with hot sauce, fresh salsa or pico de gallo, sour cream and more shredded cheese so people could season it more if they liked. Haven't had a complaint on it yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
The first time I made this exactly according to the recipe and took it to a meeting. It was well liked but had quite a bit leftover. I'm not a big fan of ham so this time I made it with sage sausage and red bell pepper instead of green. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground mustard and used a fresh potato instead of frozen. Since the starch turns brown, had to rinse it. I should have rolled it in a paper towel to absorb the extra moisture. That was the only issue I ran into using a fresh potato - the extra moisture. I took it to my meeting and it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The first time I made this recipe just as written and have made this a number of times with some changes. So you don't end up with dry eggs; the type of crock pot is very important to the cooking time. Your narrow, tall cylinder time will take longer to cook then a large oval crock pot by 1 to 2 hours difference. I love this recipe because you can make some changes to your family or guests tastes. Place all the ingredients in your crock pot the night before retiring for the evening and your breakfast is ready in the morning. These are some of the ingredients I have used: Purchased frozen hash browns with onion, green and red peppers. Try using 2 pounds cooked, crumbled, well drained, sausage instead of ham. We prefer 1 # original and 1 # hot sausage for that extra zing. I use pepper but fine sausage or ham have enough salt for our family. Try using your families favorite salt free seasonings for a different taste. Mixed in the egg mixture. Also try different cheese blends. I prefer using half and half instead of milk and increasing by an additional 1/2 cup. Using skim, 2%, whole milk, half and half or cream will alter the taste. Experiment, you might be surprised of the difference in taste and texture. If you use a purchased liner for your crock pot before adding the ingredients; clean up is a breeze. I would give this recipe a 10 star rating if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was good but definately needed some tweaking. I did not put hash browns or ham in. I browned a pound of sausage, added the onions, green peppers, eggs and milk and put them all int the slow cooker. In the morning when it was done, I sprinkled the cheese on top. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I read some of the reviews on this and modified the following: changed ham to half a pound, browned up half pound of sausage and added it. Changed the cheese from cheddar to the Mexican blend. To the eggs I added Italian seasoning and garlic powder. I got some great feedback from everyone eating the breakfast! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Loved the variation with hash browns - hadn't tried that before. Omitted the onions and peppers due to finicky children and included ham, sausage and bacon. Took to a school class breakfast and it was gone in no time and had several ask for recipe! I made 1 1/2 recipes and it filled the the 5 qt crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I adjusted recipe to 4 servings and after 9 hours woke up to a very burned and hard breakfast. My wife came to the rescue and made us an omelet and it tasted great. Makes a good boat anchor or paper weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have a few comments on this recipe and previous comments. The recipe is vague on two things: what size crock pot to use and amount of salt. Lots of people said it was dry and flavorless, some suggested salt and other spices. I used seasoning salt with powdered garlic and onion and I used 'bout 3/4 tbsp. It was enough to give it good flavor. I added pepper on after cooking because my daughter abhores pepper. Ham definitely isn't enough. I used bacon and ham, but I think sausage would have been good too. Also, personal preference, I used two peppers; one red, one green; makes it more colorful and have more variety. And after it was done cooking, I cut up some tomato and put it on top too. I think this recipe is perfect for a 4 qt. crock, which is what I have and it came out perfect. For the gentleman who came out with a "burnt paper weight", who redced the recipe to thirds, I believe he probably had a 6 qt. Either that or he took the cook time at face value and just halved that. I made the full recipe and it is done in 6 and a half hours. He should have made it for a brunch, as 3 hours probably would have been more than plenty. If reducing the recipe, the crock should always be at least 1/2 full with something like this or you probably will wind up with something charred. The woman who said eggs aren't meant for the slow cooker I believe to be unadventurous. Yes, this would work in the oven. But it is also good in the crock as long as you don't cook it for half a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabichka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
THIS WAS A PRETTY GOOD RECIPE, WILL TRY WITH DIFFERENT MEAT NEXT TIME.......HAM ADDED ALOT OF WATER I THINK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States