Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I changed it up to make it spicy - I used fresh, bagged hashbrowns from the produce section, 1/2 pound of spicy sausage & 1/2 pound of regular. I changed out the green bell pepper to be jalapeno peppers and after the first layer, put salt, pepper, season salt & Tobasco and then did the next layer. I used it as burrito stuffing with sour cream, shredded cheese and salsa to top it. Almost the entire thing was gone and it went FAST. It was spicy but not overwhelming and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was great! Like some others suggested, I substituted sausage for the ham. I also used Southwestern style/flavored hash browns for a little extra kick. This turned out great, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this with a few changes. First, I used a 1 pound 12 ounce bag of potatoes o'brien thus I omitted the onion and bell pepper the recipe called for. I also used 1 pound regular ground sausage and 1 pound hot ground sausage in place of the ham. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly except the cook time. As others noted, 10 hours is WAY too long. Mine was done in 5 hours. It is delicious by itself or inside a tortilla with a little extra cheese on top! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this for Christmas morning since my oven was broken this year. It was an easy recipe and overall good. Would make again for the filling in breakfast burritos, but probably would not serve it plain again. Had lots of leftovers and everyone thought it was just alright. 4 stars for how easy it is to make and customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for our Christmas morning breakfast and it was a total flop. I started it on low at 12:15am and by 7am it was overdone, dry, and burnt. My slow cooker is a 6 qt. but I thought that the decreased cooking time would make up for the larger pot. Plus the recipe says 4 qt. or larger. I would not try this again...even adding more ingredients to make a larger dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Okay....but probably wouldn't make again. Nothing special. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Am trying this next week. So I will update this. I just wanted to add a note that for our hash browns, we don't use the frozen. We put the real potatoes quartered with the bell peppers that are asked for in a blender, fill with water run blender a few times until you have a choppy consistency you like then pour through a colinder. The water keeps the starch from looking burnt and it makes a very colorful presentation. Also the uniformity in pieces size helps it cook better. I will update after we cook this and tell how it went! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Easy for a crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
AWESOME! Used 1 cup heavy cream instead of milk Used additional 1/2 cup milk and 5 more eggs that was poured over the top. Didn't use all the hashbrowns. Used 1/2 the bag. Used ham and 1 pound pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really good. I have NO idea how people burned this. They must have had a huge crockpot. This FILLED ours to the brim. I didn't think it would all fit. I had to pour the eggs so slowly over it to make sure they didn't overflow. If anything, ours was too moist, but I think that's because our ham we used was frozen and kind of old, so there was a lot of moisture in it. Instead of layering it, I mixed the potatoes, veggie, meats and cheese together in a huge bowl and them dumped them into the crock pot and poured the eggs and milk over top. I also added 8 oz package of precut/washed mushrooms, about 4 brown and serve sausage links I happened to have laying around that I sliced up and probably an extra 1/2 cup- 1 cup of cheese (it didn't look like a lot when I put it in gotta have cheese! ). Also we used the seasoned shredded hash browns because that's what I had on hand. Pepper and about a 1/2 teaspoon of salt in the eggs topped it off. Like I said, ours was kind of watery and my husband thought the eggs weren't set. They were fine. We cooked it for 10 hours. I will do this again. Pretty darn yummy for minimal effort in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States