Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really good. I have NO idea how people burned this. They must have had a huge crockpot. This FILLED ours to the brim. I didn't think it would all fit. I had to pour the eggs so slowly over it to make sure they didn't overflow. If anything, ours was too moist, but I think that's because our ham we used was frozen and kind of old, so there was a lot of moisture in it. Instead of layering it, I mixed the potatoes, veggie, meats and cheese together in a huge bowl and them dumped them into the crock pot and poured the eggs and milk over top. I also added 8 oz package of precut/washed mushrooms, about 4 brown and serve sausage links I happened to have laying around that I sliced up and probably an extra 1/2 cup- 1 cup of cheese (it didn't look like a lot when I put it in gotta have cheese! ). Also we used the seasoned shredded hash browns because that's what I had on hand. Pepper and about a 1/2 teaspoon of salt in the eggs topped it off. Like I said, ours was kind of watery and my husband thought the eggs weren't set. They were fine. We cooked it for 10 hours. I will do this again. Pretty darn yummy for minimal effort in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Perfect for tailgating! Ingredients can be swapped out to make any type of omelet (love it with spicy sausage, mushrooms & cheddar cheese). But beware....6 hours cooking time is all that needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Pretty good but the timing and spice is so wrong. I put it in the crockpot about midnight and I got up at 5am and it was completely done and starting to really brown on the sides.. ON LOW! This just won't work for overnight breakfast. It was so bland, it needs a lot more salt in my opinion. I did save it by adding some homemade pico de gallo so it made it edible. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe is very simple and it cooks up very nice...it makes a lot so it would be great for big families or potluck get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have a few comments on this recipe and previous comments. The recipe is vague on two things: what size crock pot to use and amount of salt. Lots of people said it was dry and flavorless, some suggested salt and other spices. I used seasoning salt with powdered garlic and onion and I used 'bout 3/4 tbsp. It was enough to give it good flavor. I added pepper on after cooking because my daughter abhores pepper. Ham definitely isn't enough. I used bacon and ham, but I think sausage would have been good too. Also, personal preference, I used two peppers; one red, one green; makes it more colorful and have more variety. And after it was done cooking, I cut up some tomato and put it on top too. I think this recipe is perfect for a 4 qt. crock, which is what I have and it came out perfect. For the gentleman who came out with a "burnt paper weight", who redced the recipe to thirds, I believe he probably had a 6 qt. Either that or he took the cook time at face value and just halved that. I made the full recipe and it is done in 6 and a half hours. He should have made it for a brunch, as 3 hours probably would have been more than plenty. If reducing the recipe, the crock should always be at least 1/2 full with something like this or you probably will wind up with something charred. The woman who said eggs aren't meant for the slow cooker I believe to be unadventurous. Yes, this would work in the oven. But it is also good in the crock as long as you don't cook it for half a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabichka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Definately an easy recipe but I would look to add more veggies next time for taste and texture. Luckily, I put it in later as at the 8 hour mark it was way past done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this for a breakfast pot luck for the office. I followed the directions exactly, but followed the suggestion from another and used sage sausage instead of ham. Cooked for 8 hours and smelled wonderful! But when we went to eat it, it was dry. Needless to say, I still had half of what I brought in. I don't know where I went wrong? I think if I baked it, it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I adjusted the recipe for 9 servings and added some chopped mushrooms. I cooked it for 10 and 1/2 hours and woke up to a burnt mess. I do not know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie~Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Highly overated. Followed instructions perfectly. Will not make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I make an oven omelet when my family come. The last time I made this one for a small portion of the family and they liked it. I will be making it for 14 next Christmas. It will be nice to wake up to it already cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wembley, Middlesex, England, U.K.
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States