Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Got burned around edges in glass crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I changed it up to make it spicy - I used fresh, bagged hashbrowns from the produce section, 1/2 pound of spicy sausage & 1/2 pound of regular. I changed out the green bell pepper to be jalapeno peppers and after the first layer, put salt, pepper, season salt & Tobasco and then did the next layer. I used it as burrito stuffing with sour cream, shredded cheese and salsa to top it. Almost the entire thing was gone and it went FAST. It was spicy but not overwhelming and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was great! Like some others suggested, I substituted sausage for the ham. I also used Southwestern style/flavored hash browns for a little extra kick. This turned out great, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this with a few changes. First, I used a 1 pound 12 ounce bag of potatoes o'brien thus I omitted the onion and bell pepper the recipe called for. I also used 1 pound regular ground sausage and 1 pound hot ground sausage in place of the ham. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly except the cook time. As others noted, 10 hours is WAY too long. Mine was done in 5 hours. It is delicious by itself or inside a tortilla with a little extra cheese on top! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made this for Christmas morning since my oven was broken this year. It was an easy recipe and overall good. Would make again for the filling in breakfast burritos, but probably would not serve it plain again. Had lots of leftovers and everyone thought it was just alright. 4 stars for how easy it is to make and customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for our Christmas morning breakfast and it was a total flop. I started it on low at 12:15am and by 7am it was overdone, dry, and burnt. My slow cooker is a 6 qt. but I thought that the decreased cooking time would make up for the larger pot. Plus the recipe says 4 qt. or larger. I would not try this again...even adding more ingredients to make a larger dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Okay....but probably wouldn't make again. Nothing special. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Am trying this next week. So I will update this. I just wanted to add a note that for our hash browns, we don't use the frozen. We put the real potatoes quartered with the bell peppers that are asked for in a blender, fill with water run blender a few times until you have a choppy consistency you like then pour through a colinder. The water keeps the starch from looking burnt and it makes a very colorful presentation. Also the uniformity in pieces size helps it cook better. I will update after we cook this and tell how it went! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Easy for a crowd...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
AWESOME! Used 1 cup heavy cream instead of milk Used additional 1/2 cup milk and 5 more eggs that was poured over the top. Didn't use all the hashbrowns. Used 1/2 the bag. Used ham and 1 pound pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States