Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The first time I made this recipe just as written and have made this a number of times with some changes. So you don't end up with dry eggs; the type of crock pot is very important to the cooking time. Your narrow, tall cylinder time will take longer to cook then a large oval crock pot by 1 to 2 hours difference. I love this recipe because you can make some changes to your family or guests tastes. Place all the ingredients in your crock pot the night before retiring for the evening and your breakfast is ready in the morning. These are some of the ingredients I have used: Purchased frozen hash browns with onion, green and red peppers. Try using 2 pounds cooked, crumbled, well drained, sausage instead of ham. We prefer 1 # original and 1 # hot sausage for that extra zing. I use pepper but fine sausage or ham have enough salt for our family. Try using your families favorite salt free seasonings for a different taste. Mixed in the egg mixture. Also try different cheese blends. I prefer using half and half instead of milk and increasing by an additional 1/2 cup. Using skim, 2%, whole milk, half and half or cream will alter the taste. Experiment, you might be surprised of the difference in taste and texture. If you use a purchased liner for your crock pot before adding the ingredients; clean up is a breeze. I would give this recipe a 10 star rating if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was okay. It was overdone and I turned it off after 8 hours. I would try again and adjust the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I woud not use this recipe again. I did not care for the taste. I used ham and I thought it turned out very soggy. Might be better if cooked in oven, but I don't think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Was really disappointed in the way this turned out. I substituted sausage for the ham and cooked for slightly over 8 hours but it was too long. The bottom was burned and it tasted too mushy. My opinion is it needs at least 6-12 more eggs and maybe with a larger amount- the cook time would work out better. I did give it 3 stars because the taste was not horrible and i think it has potential to be better. I also omitted the pepper and added ground mustard and garlic powder, but i think it could use a little more seasonings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this recipe for 18 on a 6QT ceramic crock pot set on LOW. At 9 hours it was burning on the edges, bottom and top. Interestingly, the flavor was good and the eggs were eaten right up to the "burned crust" that created a bowl of sorts. I used 1-1/2 lbs Bacon Pieces rather than ham, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. black pepper. It was plenty salty and flavorful; just unattractively dark and burned looking on the outside. I served with hot tortillas with salsa, and tabasco condiments. I'll make again; but, will definately tweak the cooking time. Even for 18 servings the cook time could easily be 7 to 7-1/2 hours on low, maybe less. I might even try 2 hours on High. Thanks to all for sharing the recipe and ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernDesigner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this a few weeks ago and got rave reviews. My daughter took it to school for an early morning meeting. All the teachers asked for the recipe. I'm gonna make it now so we'll have a hot breakfast in the morning and I won't have to cook then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Got burned around edges in glass crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I changed it up to make it spicy - I used fresh, bagged hashbrowns from the produce section, 1/2 pound of spicy sausage & 1/2 pound of regular. I changed out the green bell pepper to be jalapeno peppers and after the first layer, put salt, pepper, season salt & Tobasco and then did the next layer. I used it as burrito stuffing with sour cream, shredded cheese and salsa to top it. Almost the entire thing was gone and it went FAST. It was spicy but not overwhelming and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was great! Like some others suggested, I substituted sausage for the ham. I also used Southwestern style/flavored hash browns for a little extra kick. This turned out great, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this with a few changes. First, I used a 1 pound 12 ounce bag of potatoes o'brien thus I omitted the onion and bell pepper the recipe called for. I also used 1 pound regular ground sausage and 1 pound hot ground sausage in place of the ham. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly except the cook time. As others noted, 10 hours is WAY too long. Mine was done in 5 hours. It is delicious by itself or inside a tortilla with a little extra cheese on top! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States