Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love breakfast for dinner. This recipe was great. Made flaky biscuits n some sausage gravy......yummy. All 3 kids loved it. Plus wasnt stuck in kitchen making it so had time to play a game w kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I work nights so anything I can toss in the crock pot to cook while I am sleeping during the day is great...so when I saw eggs in the crockpot I had to try it...I made it exactly how it was written except I substituted brown and serve sausage instead of ham which work wonderfuly...there was way to much potato in it.....next time I will cut it in half or leave them out completely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I put this in a 6QT slow cooker, used sausage instead of ham, used evaporated milk instead of milk, and added some seasonings as recommended by other reviewers. I cooked it on low for 6 hours, pushing the contents down further into the crock pot after about 3 hours (til the liquid came up to the top). Turned out great. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Good and easy. I wanted to test this recipe, so we had breakfast for dinner tonight. I made 1/2 recipe, and cooked on low for 4-hours in my old, trusty 4-qt Rival Crock Pot. I used XL eggs, no green bell pepper, but otherwise followed the directions. (I would not want to cook this any longer than 4-hours with 1/2 recipe. Maybe just 3 1/2 hours.) Next time I will add the green bell pepper, use a spicy sausage instead of the ham, and other ingredients/spices. Also, I liked the review "Paperlady" made on 31 July 2008---good idea for breakfast burritos. This is a good slow cooker recipe that may be adapted to suit everyone's taste. Reviewers comments were helpful too. Thank you CSBCOKE for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Great recipe. Just make sure you keep the cheese away from the bottom and sides of the slow cooker because even in 8-9 hours it will start to turn dark and taste bad. Great for busy mornings before kid's basketball games.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Made this several times, and have never had the trouble others noted with burning/overcooking/dryness...now I am wondering if it is because each time I use egg substitute instead of cracking a dozen eggs? (I'm a lazy cook!)...maybe the more liquid/fluid nature of the EggBeaters helps permeate the other ingredients? Still tastes great! I do add a full 2 cups of cheese, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. For this morning, I prepped one crock pot with sweet Italian sausage and a bit of onion and regular eggbeaters...in the other, red and green peppers, onions, fresh mushrooms, and southwestern style eggbeaters. I love, love the breakfast burrito idea--this is how we serve them every time! (build-yer-own, with small flour or whole wheat tortillas, salsa, green salsa, sour cream, shredded cheese, and tobasco as desired). Family/Friend Fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadpiraterosato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Not sure what went wrong. I put it in layers as the recipe called for, used sausage I cooked and started the omelet on low about 11pm. By 6am it was burnt all around the edges and the middle was mush. I won't make this again. I think the concept was fantastic, but not so good in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
cooked all the flavor out. no one in my house liked it... cooked just as directions said to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Whenever my husband has to take breakfast into work, we make this. It goes over very well and has been requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scoobyvc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, but may use some sort of sausage for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Hilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mims, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States