Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good, but may use some sort of sausage for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mims, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very tasty and easy to assemble. I used browned sausage without the green peppers. Even when the power went out and I woke up to a cold, partially cooked meal, I was able to finish cooking on High and serve for Mother's Day on time. I plan to make this every Monday morning for my 3 sons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Cooks up more like a crustless Quiche IMHO and this is what I grew up with as a "Denver Omelet" while the "Western Omelet" I'm familiar with has browned ground beef, sliced mushrooms & onions and provolone cheese. Must be a regional thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
The first time I made this recipe just as written and have made this a number of times with some changes. So you don't end up with dry eggs; the type of crock pot is very important to the cooking time. Your narrow, tall cylinder time will take longer to cook then a large oval crock pot by 1 to 2 hours difference. I love this recipe because you can make some changes to your family or guests tastes. Place all the ingredients in your crock pot the night before retiring for the evening and your breakfast is ready in the morning. These are some of the ingredients I have used: Purchased frozen hash browns with onion, green and red peppers. Try using 2 pounds cooked, crumbled, well drained, sausage instead of ham. We prefer 1 # original and 1 # hot sausage for that extra zing. I use pepper but fine sausage or ham have enough salt for our family. Try using your families favorite salt free seasonings for a different taste. Mixed in the egg mixture. Also try different cheese blends. I prefer using half and half instead of milk and increasing by an additional 1/2 cup. Using skim, 2%, whole milk, half and half or cream will alter the taste. Experiment, you might be surprised of the difference in taste and texture. If you use a purchased liner for your crock pot before adding the ingredients; clean up is a breeze. I would give this recipe a 10 star rating if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was okay. It was overdone and I turned it off after 8 hours. I would try again and adjust the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I woud not use this recipe again. I did not care for the taste. I used ham and I thought it turned out very soggy. Might be better if cooked in oven, but I don't think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Was really disappointed in the way this turned out. I substituted sausage for the ham and cooked for slightly over 8 hours but it was too long. The bottom was burned and it tasted too mushy. My opinion is it needs at least 6-12 more eggs and maybe with a larger amount- the cook time would work out better. I did give it 3 stars because the taste was not horrible and i think it has potential to be better. I also omitted the pepper and added ground mustard and garlic powder, but i think it could use a little more seasonings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this recipe for 18 on a 6QT ceramic crock pot set on LOW. At 9 hours it was burning on the edges, bottom and top. Interestingly, the flavor was good and the eggs were eaten right up to the "burned crust" that created a bowl of sorts. I used 1-1/2 lbs Bacon Pieces rather than ham, 1 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. black pepper. It was plenty salty and flavorful; just unattractively dark and burned looking on the outside. I served with hot tortillas with salsa, and tabasco condiments. I'll make again; but, will definately tweak the cooking time. Even for 18 servings the cook time could easily be 7 to 7-1/2 hours on low, maybe less. I might even try 2 hours on High. Thanks to all for sharing the recipe and ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernDesigner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this a few weeks ago and got rave reviews. My daughter took it to school for an early morning meeting. All the teachers asked for the recipe. I'm gonna make it now so we'll have a hot breakfast in the morning and I won't have to cook then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Got burned around edges in glass crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States