Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
It turned out mushy. It reminded my husband of corned beef hash with Ham instead and my 6 year old would barely touch it. I thought it tasted ok but it was not at all the texture I thought it would be and had I left it in the crock any longer it would have burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
The recipe needs a little sprucing up. I would recommend chili's and some other spices to spruce it up. I followed this recipe to the T and woke up to a burned mess in my crock pot. I gave it a 3 because the person writing the recipe cannot control my crock pot. I did taste what wasn't a burned mess (in the center) and it was really bland. I think this would be easier and tastier if it were just made in the morning in the oven. Skip the crock pot all together. I had put this together for an Easter brunch today and will be stopping at the market to get a fruit plate as I cannot serve this. Best of luck to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
The only difference I made to this recipe was using sausage instead of ham. It was delicious! The only problem was the cooking time. I did two recipes, using two different brands of crockpots (they were even different shapes), and they were both done cooking in 6 1/2 hours. I had to add extra milk to avoid burning. It still tasted great in the breakfast burritos that we made, but the hasbrown were way overcooked. I'll definatly make again and adjust the cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This turned out horrible, glad I didn't make for guests and experimented on fam. &they are adventurous eaters. Made as is - it cooked faster than stated & was ready waaaay sooner. when I got home from work I had burnt sides (and I allegedly had 2+ hours more to go)! Only way we salvaged this & got everyone to eat one more time was by serving as suggested in tortilla w/ homemade salsa. I've never had such a horrible result off a recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made this recipes for family who was visiting from out of town. We were excited about the prospect of waking up to a cooked breakfast. The dish was easy to put together, and the hashbrowns and onions smelled great when we woke up. The breakfast did not look very appealing though, and the taste was ok. The sides were a bit burned after cooking for only 10 hours, and the texture of the egg make the dish taste a bit gritty, somewhat like fried rice. I would rather bake a casserole in the oven. I don't think I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
As I suspected when I was pouring everything in my slow cooker, WAY TOO MANY POTATOES! Next time I will ony use half of the bag. I added a little seasoning on each layer of potatoes, and used 1 lb cooked breakfast sausage instead of ham. After 6 hours on low, it was ready. Some slow cookers heat differently, so your best bet would be to check on it periodically. I loved it, and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is fantastic for those busy families on the weekend or holidays. This was fantastic for my hunters. Whenever they came in from there hunt, they would grab a bit, warm up and off to the woods again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
A lot less cooking time needed when hash browns are not used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
We have made this recipe several times for breakfast! We always use a pound of bacon instead of sausage, though. We have also doubled the recipe. Turns out great every time! This makes a great breakfast for our family to have on a busy morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I love my crockpot but this just wasn't cutting it. I had 2 lbs of sausage I wanted to use so I subbed that for the ham. And, I used red and orange pepper for the green. Other than that, everything was the same. It didn't really look bad when I took the lid off but putting it on a plate.... It was not appetizing looking at all. The taste was alright but I'd rather not do it again. I used a 5 qt oval crockpot and it filled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States