Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I did not have frozen hash browns, so I shredded raw potatoes and let them sit in water for about 5 minutes, drained them well and added them to the crock pot. I added just a touch extra milk as other reviewers suggested, and I used sausage instead of ham, just personal preference, and I did not add salt since the meat was already well salted. I cooked on low for 7 hours, it was perfect! Super easy, super tasty breakfast! Very versatile, easy to add different meats and veggies to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My corckpot may be a little strong, but I only cooked this for 6 hours & it was more than done. Took it to work for a potluck & the coworkers loved it! I used 2 cups of cheese & probably could have used even more, but we love cheese at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
decent. easy. vary the ingredients to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Highly recommended! It was so nice to wake up and smell a fantastic dish that was ready to serve. Next time I plan to change things a bit and do an Italian theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen of Zoom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I fixed this for my wife's departmental breakfast. I used turkey keilbasa to accomodate those who don't eat pork. I didn't get to taste it myself, but the reviews were excellent and the slow cooker came home empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I wanted a camping breakfast. Made it as stated except my frozen potatoes weren't frozen anymore- due to being in the cooler. My omelet was done in 6 hours on low. Luckily I read other reviews and was prepared for an early finish... I woke up at 3am cause I smelled it. I turned the crock pot off. 3 hours later when we ate, it was still warm but seemed to be too much potato and it kinda settled at the bottom. Either way, delicious! I tossed all of my eggs into a large ziploc bag to "scramble" with milk and used a crock pot liner. Easy cleanup!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was pretty good inside of a tortilla as a breakfast burrito. I didn't like how brown the edges go. If I make it again, I might use the diced potatoes rather than shredded to give it a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
It turned out mushy. It reminded my husband of corned beef hash with Ham instead and my 6 year old would barely touch it. I thought it tasted ok but it was not at all the texture I thought it would be and had I left it in the crock any longer it would have burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
The recipe needs a little sprucing up. I would recommend chili's and some other spices to spruce it up. I followed this recipe to the T and woke up to a burned mess in my crock pot. I gave it a 3 because the person writing the recipe cannot control my crock pot. I did taste what wasn't a burned mess (in the center) and it was really bland. I think this would be easier and tastier if it were just made in the morning in the oven. Skip the crock pot all together. I had put this together for an Easter brunch today and will be stopping at the market to get a fruit plate as I cannot serve this. Best of luck to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
The only difference I made to this recipe was using sausage instead of ham. It was delicious! The only problem was the cooking time. I did two recipes, using two different brands of crockpots (they were even different shapes), and they were both done cooking in 6 1/2 hours. I had to add extra milk to avoid burning. It still tasted great in the breakfast burritos that we made, but the hasbrown were way overcooked. I'll definatly make again and adjust the cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States