Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
With the exception of swapping sausage for ham, I made the recipe without any changes. I must have a 5 or 6 qt crock pot and the reviews are correct - the cooking time is too long. It did burn around the edges but the middle was great. Trying it again this weekend for a church breakfast and I think it will be perfect this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Was a little hesitant to try this, where eggs and milk were involved; especially when it took a while to cook it. However the results were delicious! Absolutely delicious!!! The only change I did was instead of using salt and pepper, I used Italian seasoning; and the results are out of this world! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I was apprehensive about making this dish for the first time for a office christmas breakfast but it turned out absolutely perfect. I used one pound of fried ground breakfast turkey instead of ham. Used half & half instead of milk only because none in the fridge. Just to make it simple I used frozen cubed hash brown with green peppers and onions along with one carton of egg beaters. So simple and so yummy. I was careful not to layer the cheeze close to the sides of the crock pot. Only cooked for 6 hours and the sides did not burn and the middle was fully cooked. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Big hit at potluck, feel free to throw in some other veggies too, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I did not have frozen hash browns, so I shredded raw potatoes and let them sit in water for about 5 minutes, drained them well and added them to the crock pot. I added just a touch extra milk as other reviewers suggested, and I used sausage instead of ham, just personal preference, and I did not add salt since the meat was already well salted. I cooked on low for 7 hours, it was perfect! Super easy, super tasty breakfast! Very versatile, easy to add different meats and veggies to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My corckpot may be a little strong, but I only cooked this for 6 hours & it was more than done. Took it to work for a potluck & the coworkers loved it! I used 2 cups of cheese & probably could have used even more, but we love cheese at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
decent. easy. vary the ingredients to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Highly recommended! It was so nice to wake up and smell a fantastic dish that was ready to serve. Next time I plan to change things a bit and do an Italian theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen of Zoom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I fixed this for my wife's departmental breakfast. I used turkey keilbasa to accomodate those who don't eat pork. I didn't get to taste it myself, but the reviews were excellent and the slow cooker came home empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I wanted a camping breakfast. Made it as stated except my frozen potatoes weren't frozen anymore- due to being in the cooler. My omelet was done in 6 hours on low. Luckily I read other reviews and was prepared for an early finish... I woke up at 3am cause I smelled it. I turned the crock pot off. 3 hours later when we ate, it was still warm but seemed to be too much potato and it kinda settled at the bottom. Either way, delicious! I tossed all of my eggs into a large ziploc bag to "scramble" with milk and used a crock pot liner. Easy cleanup!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States