Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Slow cookers vary a lot, some cooking faster than others. I decided to try this for supper so reduced quantities as suggested and put it on mid morning on lowest setting. By mid afternoon it had set solid. I found it quicker and easier just to do this as I always have - part cooking ingredients beforehand then adding them with the eggs, cheese etc to non stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Very versatile! I did follow other suggestions and only cooked this for about 6.5 hours on low and it turned out wonderfully! There are only 2 of us in the house so I froze the remaining portions and we had it for breakfast for a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is a very good breakfast meal. Very easy to adjust to your tastes. Great for when company comes and Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
First off my son woke up and didn't like the smell in the crockpot. 2nd a lot of it burned in the pot and didn't have a good flavor. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I accidentally made it without hash browns and everyone still loved it. This is a perfect solution to feeding a lot of people with minimal work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Breakfast made easy – if you have an older crockpot/ slow cooker. I made this as written with the addition of fresh spinach. I wanted this for dinner, so I stated the crockpot before leaving for work. It was on low for 8 hours and it was done and was probably done at the 7 hour mark. It would have been burnt if I had cooked for 10-12 hours. I made this in newer crockpot and they cook much hotter than the older models. This was good and very filling. I let rest about 25 minutes before serving and it served nicely in wedges. I believe the edge of the casserole gets brown from the cheese touching the sides of the cooker. I like the idea of this recipe, but will try a smaller version in my older, smaller slow cooker. This egg casserole was served this with toast and fresh fruit. It makes a lot, so we had leftovers for breakfast. This recipe has been around since 2002, before the newer cookers. That being said, knowing that the new slow cookers cook much faster, I'm still giving this 4-stars with the warning to keep an eye on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Hmm. This was all right, but I'm glad I tried it at home first prior to taking it to work for a breakfast meeting. I have a large oval slow cooker that turns to warm after the cooking time is reached, so it kept it warm and not overcooked when we woke up. It was, however, a bit too moist and mushy. I'm thinking that if I feel like trying this again I'll use a towel under the lid as someone suggested to reduce the moisture; that might've led to the mushiness. It wasn't bland, as others have stated, but perhaps that is because I used spicy ground sausage, sprinkled garlic powder, salt and pepper on the potatoes, and put parsley, salt and pepper with the eggs as well as canned green chiles. I didn't have fresh or frozen potatoes; all I had was canned white potatoes, so I sliced them and layered on the bottom. I only did one layer each of every ingredient since it seemed too much otherwise; I did, however, top with the remaining cheese. All in all, this was okay, but I think I'll bring something else to my breakfast meeting next week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
With the exception of swapping sausage for ham, I made the recipe without any changes. I must have a 5 or 6 qt crock pot and the reviews are correct - the cooking time is too long. It did burn around the edges but the middle was great. Trying it again this weekend for a church breakfast and I think it will be perfect this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Was a little hesitant to try this, where eggs and milk were involved; especially when it took a while to cook it. However the results were delicious! Absolutely delicious!!! The only change I did was instead of using salt and pepper, I used Italian seasoning; and the results are out of this world! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trevorl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doaktown, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I was apprehensive about making this dish for the first time for a office christmas breakfast but it turned out absolutely perfect. I used one pound of fried ground breakfast turkey instead of ham. Used half & half instead of milk only because none in the fridge. Just to make it simple I used frozen cubed hash brown with green peppers and onions along with one carton of egg beaters. So simple and so yummy. I was careful not to layer the cheeze close to the sides of the crock pot. Only cooked for 6 hours and the sides did not burn and the middle was fully cooked. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States