Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
The convenience of having breakfast ready in the morning and the clean up complete, is just an added bonus to this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I make a strata every week in the oven so we can slice it and take to work for breakfast. I change up the ingredients according to what is in season. I hate heating up the oven when it is hot as it makes the whole house uncomfortable. This worked great using a slightly modified version. I sauteed the vegetables first since I use a lot of them and used 6 whole eggs and about 8-10 egg whites beaten together with no milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefdujourr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is not a good recipe. It burned on the sides, was hard, and looked and tasted unappetizing. If you want to save time in the morning, prepare the ingredients the night before and cook up a fresh omelet in the morning with the hash browns on the side. If you have the time, try one of the many tasty and freshly made breakfast casseroles on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Slow cookers vary a lot, some cooking faster than others. I decided to try this for supper so reduced quantities as suggested and put it on mid morning on lowest setting. By mid afternoon it had set solid. I found it quicker and easier just to do this as I always have - part cooking ingredients beforehand then adding them with the eggs, cheese etc to non stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Very versatile! I did follow other suggestions and only cooked this for about 6.5 hours on low and it turned out wonderfully! There are only 2 of us in the house so I froze the remaining portions and we had it for breakfast for a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is a very good breakfast meal. Very easy to adjust to your tastes. Great for when company comes and Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
First off my son woke up and didn't like the smell in the crockpot. 2nd a lot of it burned in the pot and didn't have a good flavor. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I accidentally made it without hash browns and everyone still loved it. This is a perfect solution to feeding a lot of people with minimal work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Breakfast made easy – if you have an older crockpot/ slow cooker. I made this as written with the addition of fresh spinach. I wanted this for dinner, so I stated the crockpot before leaving for work. It was on low for 8 hours and it was done and was probably done at the 7 hour mark. It would have been burnt if I had cooked for 10-12 hours. I made this in newer crockpot and they cook much hotter than the older models. This was good and very filling. I let rest about 25 minutes before serving and it served nicely in wedges. I believe the edge of the casserole gets brown from the cheese touching the sides of the cooker. I like the idea of this recipe, but will try a smaller version in my older, smaller slow cooker. This egg casserole was served this with toast and fresh fruit. It makes a lot, so we had leftovers for breakfast. This recipe has been around since 2002, before the newer cookers. That being said, knowing that the new slow cookers cook much faster, I'm still giving this 4-stars with the warning to keep an eye on this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Hmm. This was all right, but I'm glad I tried it at home first prior to taking it to work for a breakfast meeting. I have a large oval slow cooker that turns to warm after the cooking time is reached, so it kept it warm and not overcooked when we woke up. It was, however, a bit too moist and mushy. I'm thinking that if I feel like trying this again I'll use a towel under the lid as someone suggested to reduce the moisture; that might've led to the mushiness. It wasn't bland, as others have stated, but perhaps that is because I used spicy ground sausage, sprinkled garlic powder, salt and pepper on the potatoes, and put parsley, salt and pepper with the eggs as well as canned green chiles. I didn't have fresh or frozen potatoes; all I had was canned white potatoes, so I sliced them and layered on the bottom. I only did one layer each of every ingredient since it seemed too much otherwise; I did, however, top with the remaining cheese. All in all, this was okay, but I think I'll bring something else to my breakfast meeting next week. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States