Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
The first time I made this exactly according to the recipe and took it to a meeting. It was well liked but had quite a bit leftover. I'm not a big fan of ham so this time I made it with sage sausage and red bell pepper instead of green. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground mustard and used a fresh potato instead of frozen. Since the starch turns brown, had to rinse it. I should have rolled it in a paper towel to absorb the extra moisture. That was the only issue I ran into using a fresh potato - the extra moisture. I took it to my meeting and it disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Love the versatility of this recipe! Have made this recipe several times at the request of my co-workers. I have tweaked it each time depending on what type of group I was serving. Have used browned italian sausage (mild to spicy), pre-cubed ham and even bacon. For ease, frozen chopped onions/green peppers and for color, yellow/red peppers. Used shredded mexi-cheese for a spicier taste or four-cheese blends for a mild one. In the eggs, I added dry mixed italian seasonings, chopped garlic and a dash of dijon mustard. Cooked just fine at about 11 hours on low. For sides, I have served it with hot sauce, fresh salsa or pico de gallo, sour cream and more shredded cheese so people could season it more if they liked. Haven't had a complaint on it yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
We found this to be rather bland and dry, cooked for 10 hours. The potatoes were rather mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I cooked for 10 hours on low and it was way overdone. Also, not a lot of flavor to it. I took it to work and we decided it needed less cooking time, and maybe a can of rotel to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I adjusted recipe to 4 servings and after 9 hours woke up to a very burned and hard breakfast. My wife came to the rescue and made us an omelet and it tasted great. Makes a good boat anchor or paper weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
We tried this as a 1/2 recipe in a regular size slow cooker. Even after doubling the eggs there wasn't enough to cover the mixture. Just about all went into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe was good but definately needed some tweaking. I did not put hash browns or ham in. I browned a pound of sausage, added the onions, green peppers, eggs and milk and put them all int the slow cooker. In the morning when it was done, I sprinkled the cheese on top. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Very dry and rather bland. Appearance was overall blah, as was the taste. Wasted a dozen eggs on this one. Maybe cutting down on the amount of potatoes or adding more liquid would help. Would not make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This recipe tasted ok but was not much to look at. My husband would not even try it and my kids were not thrilled that I made them eat it. My husband has strongly requested (forbidden) that this recipe not be served in our home again. If you do try this recipe here is a hint, I used the hashbrowns that had onion and bell pepper in them instead of chopping up my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States