Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Used the western style hashbrowns b/c they already have the peppers in the bag. Made a very large portion and a great way to use up that Christmas or Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Girard, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Some important things to note about this particular recipe... While the idea of having a ready-made breakfast is quite appealing, I must say that eggs were not mean to cook for ten hours. They just weren't. This cooking time is way too long. Waaaaaay. To give you an idea, I put it in at nine, and happened back down at midnight, and it was done and starting to darken to burnt on the edges. God knows what seven more hours would have done to it. Also, it is too much potatoes for those expecting an egg dish with potatoes in it....as is it makes a potato dish with eggs in it. As other have said this needs to be seasoned with salt and pepper and perhaps some herbs. So, to review: 1. Lower the cooking time, because even on low you don't need more than three hours. 2. Add some seasonings. 3. Lower the amount of potatoes, or raise the amount of eggs. I might make this again, however it would be on a morning when I wake up before the family and just don't feel like doing the whole eggs, bacon and pancake shebang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I made this for our dinner yesterday with a few modifications. I do not like onions so I did not put any in and I did not have any green peppers so none of them either. I do think the green peppers would have been good in it. I mixed some fat free sour cream with some skim evaporated milk. I like sour cream in stuff as it adds flavor and also makes it creamier. I cooked it on the medium setting for about 6-7 hours. My hubby and I both loved it. I topped mine with some salsa. He likes his food less spicy than me. He said he definitely would like to have this again. It was quite simple and fast to put together and then just forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We made this for a ski weekend breakfast - it was fast and easy to put together. I used the O'Brien hashbrowns to avoid having to take extra ingredients. Next time I'll use only 1 lb of hashbrowns as we have a lot left over, it could use some zing...I'll try adding bacon and/or pepper jack cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Okay so I made this recipe with the slow cooker the first time and found that, like many others, this recipes doesn't need 10 hours cook time! At 2 am it was ready but I decided to follow the recipe and leave it in 7 more hours. It was absolutely burnt in the morning and tasted like bland rubber. So I took the advice found here in the comments to bake it in the oven rather than the crock pot. I also adjusted the ingredients a bit. I didn't use near as many hash browns. I baked it at 375 F for about 45-50 minutes and turned out very good! I will definety add some more salt and pepper and change things up a bit to taste, but the second time around I must say was a lot more rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. Due to the bad reviews it got, I gave it a little tweeking. Spiced it up a little more with some tabasco, onion powder, red pepper flakes, garlic. I added some sliced mushrooms and a little sliced japaleno since all the fam likes them. Be sure to keep an eye on it. Mine was a little overdone at 6.5 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Big Disappointment. I was excited to fix this because it is so unique. Either my crock pot is too hot, even on low or I missed something in the preparations becuase this didn't turn out. First it was overcooked to the point of being brown on the top and sides. Then it was pretty tasteless and the texture was very odd. I hate to give a bad rating but I didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
after reading this recipe 5 years ago, I suggested to our chamber of commerce director we do this for our food booth at the annual Senior Pro Rodeo only make it as a filling for breakfast burritos. Our booth is there only for the participants. We have to have the coffee hot and donuts fresh at 7:30 in the morning, because they are getting ready to go through their trials for the nights line-up. I found this and tweaked it for 50 servings, substituted cooked, ground sausage for ham, nixed the bell pepper, bought flour tortillas,salsa and extra shredded cheese. We cook this overnight at home, bring the crockpot to the food booth and assemble to make breakfast burritos. We take a tortilla, a decent serving of the omelet, an extra sprinkle of cheese, wrap up individually in foil, and lay them in another crockpot that has a damp towel at the bottom. the damp towel keeps everything steamy hot. as they are bought, they put their own salsa on. We made them in 25 serving batches.(Two smaller crockpots) word spread quickly we had something better than donuts. we have sold out every year after the 1st year (once they found out) we also found the second morning (after the first nights show, afterwards they went into town for the dance and drank alot) we sold out faster on the second morning than the first morning. so we didn't make as much the first morning, and had more for the second morning. it is not labor intensive, and we 3 volunteers get together the night before the rodeo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Saylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
What a great smell to wake up to Christmas morning! The whole family loved it - husband, kids 12, 10 and 3 1/2! Will be a new holiday tradition at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Meh. Just o'k. Edges were burned even though I cooked for minimum time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States