Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
What a great smell to wake up to Christmas morning! The whole family loved it - husband, kids 12, 10 and 3 1/2! Will be a new holiday tradition at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Meh. Just o'k. Edges were burned even though I cooked for minimum time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this recipe as is but without the onions. I thought it was very tasty! Next time I will shorten the cooking time to 8 hrs. My slow cooker has an option for 10 hrs. on slow, which is what I used. But I found that was still too long to cook it. Great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this last night just so we could have a lazy morning today and I am glad I did. I did use the crock pot liner which will help with clean up. The only "problem" I encountered was a little grease at the top from all the cheese. I removed that with a paper towel and all was well. I will add more seasonings next time just to pump up the overall flavor. It is a good base recipe that you can tweak to make to your own likings.Green chilies would be great in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out so i gave it a try,It was great.I will keep this recipe around for when the kids and grandkids come over.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe...however it did NOT take 10-12 hours it took 6 hours so because it needed to sit in the slow cooker for so long the edges burned a little bit but the middle was great and it was so easy! I omited the green peper and onion and it was still great. I did add some onion powder and that added great flavor...Do not cook it for as long as it says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I have made this a few times and made some changes. I use frozen seasoned shredded potatos instead of the plain ones - it really seemed to make all the difference in the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a very easy recipe to follow. I brought this in for a work potluck and everyone loved it. I am giving it three stars for that and would give it more, but it was a little bland. I even added a whole 7 oz. can of diced chiles! I didn't have any issues with it being overcooked and I cooked it on low for 10 hours like directed. Next time I am going to add a little cayenne pepper to the egg mixture, and add a second bellpepper. I used turkey ham, but might also try this with a mixture of bacon and chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I'm giving this five stars based on the following changes: Don't cook it in the crockpot. I use a 9x13 pan (can prepare the night before and stick in the fridge, then pop into a 375 degree oven until the eggs are set). I also use bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled, instead of the ham. I wait and put the cheese on top at the end of the cook time. It *will taste bland* unless you salt and pepper it - you have to remember there are a dozen eggs in here plus the hash brown potatoes, neither of which has any seasoning. I am normally light-handed with salt, and prefer to let each person adjust seasonings on their plate. I also hardly ever use the full dozen eggs - I cut it down to 6 to 8 depending on how many people I'm feeding. It WILL stick to the pan unless you spray it VERY well, or you could use parchment paper on the bottom for quicker cleanup. As this recipe is originally written, I can understand why there have been so many unhappy reviews. With some tweaking, this is can be a very good recipe which is easy for breakfast if you assemble the night before. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
this recipe was absolutely terrible,very bland and it was burnt around the edges.will not make it again.this is a waste of a lot of ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States