Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe is very simple and it cooks up very nice...it makes a lot so it would be great for big families or potluck get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have a few comments on this recipe and previous comments. The recipe is vague on two things: what size crock pot to use and amount of salt. Lots of people said it was dry and flavorless, some suggested salt and other spices. I used seasoning salt with powdered garlic and onion and I used 'bout 3/4 tbsp. It was enough to give it good flavor. I added pepper on after cooking because my daughter abhores pepper. Ham definitely isn't enough. I used bacon and ham, but I think sausage would have been good too. Also, personal preference, I used two peppers; one red, one green; makes it more colorful and have more variety. And after it was done cooking, I cut up some tomato and put it on top too. I think this recipe is perfect for a 4 qt. crock, which is what I have and it came out perfect. For the gentleman who came out with a "burnt paper weight", who redced the recipe to thirds, I believe he probably had a 6 qt. Either that or he took the cook time at face value and just halved that. I made the full recipe and it is done in 6 and a half hours. He should have made it for a brunch, as 3 hours probably would have been more than plenty. If reducing the recipe, the crock should always be at least 1/2 full with something like this or you probably will wind up with something charred. The woman who said eggs aren't meant for the slow cooker I believe to be unadventurous. Yes, this would work in the oven. But it is also good in the crock as long as you don't cook it for half a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabichka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Definately an easy recipe but I would look to add more veggies next time for taste and texture. Luckily, I put it in later as at the 8 hour mark it was way past done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I made this for a breakfast pot luck for the office. I followed the directions exactly, but followed the suggestion from another and used sage sausage instead of ham. Cooked for 8 hours and smelled wonderful! But when we went to eat it, it was dry. Needless to say, I still had half of what I brought in. I don't know where I went wrong? I think if I baked it, it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I adjusted the recipe for 9 servings and added some chopped mushrooms. I cooked it for 10 and 1/2 hours and woke up to a burnt mess. I do not know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie~Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Highly overated. Followed instructions perfectly. Will not make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I make an oven omelet when my family come. The last time I made this one for a small portion of the family and they liked it. I will be making it for 14 next Christmas. It will be nice to wake up to it already cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wembley, Middlesex, England, U.K.
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I made this overnight for an office brunch celebrating Administrative Professionals Day today. Since I am not a cook, I listened to my mother and sister tell me that the cooking time seemed a bit much for it to include eggs! I was afraid not to follow the recipe to the letter and followed the directions exactly and cooked it for 11.5 hours. It actually came out pretty good! It was eaten and it made a lot more than needed as some people do not eat eggs and others, no meat. I did not use ham but cut up sliced smoked mesquite turkey instead. I had to guess at the salt and pepper, but all told it was ok. I will make this again and cut back on the cook time and add some additional seasonings like others suggested which I read today AFTER I had made this the first time out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Potatoes are short on flavor and they just can't beat crispy home fries. The recipe is good though and nice and easy. It's good to wake up to breakfast in the morning without having to cook. I did this recipe once with ham and the next time I used diced sausage patties. The patties definately had more flavor. I am sure I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Used the western style hashbrowns b/c they already have the peppers in the bag. Made a very large portion and a great way to use up that Christmas or Easter ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Girard, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States