Slow Cooker Western Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
EXCELLENT! So versatile this is! Crockpot cooking is easy & different. Remember unless you brown/cook 1st (hash browns,bacon) you're not going to get that crispy taste you're looking for (unless you do it in the oven-which you can!) if you brown first- slow cooking will soften crispy hash browns/bacon etc. I like hash browns so I brown first, but I also like diced soft potatoes . if you do use the diced/sliced potatoes or broken up hash browns make sure they're well seasoned otherwise they'll be soft AND not overly flavorful & btw, Use a liner or WELL greased crock pot always. lightly greased does not work well so use a GOOD amount butter/or spray -- nothing worse than having to scrub out a crock pot, even worse when the pot doesn't come out (& best to spend a few extra & get a crock pot that does come out of the base!) Remember-liquid & oil don't "cook out". Be careful how much liquid you add to your eggs. I use 1/2 & 1/2 mostly, because it makes eggs so creamy & I use less than called for. I also use water-it makes the eggs fluffier. I also add seasoning to the eggs (garlic,parsley,black pepper) keeping in mind to complement the seasonings used in the potatoes. Also, beware of cooking times. Crock pots cooking times vary, times definitely vary if you decrease or increase the amounts called for. This recipe as is,is only 7 hrs on low for me, so half a recipe would be 3 or so hrs-make this when you can watch if the 1st time so you have a time base for the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I too precook the breakfast sausage drain well . We did not use ham and used the Obrien hash browns, they have bell pepper and onion already in! I think 12 hours is just a bit to long. 10 would be fine and yes use a crock pot liner, spay it with veg or butter spray. We did this on a camping trip! More time to enjoy friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Be warned. Every crock pot is different. I had a hot mess of burnt hash browns after 5 hours on low. I tried to salvage it & make burritos per Paperlady's review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Excellent recipe! Great idea to make on Saturday night and have a big breakfast ready to go on Sunday Morning. Going to add Sausage and bacon next time I make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe needs a lot of tweaking. Also, for my crock-pot, did not need to cook for 12 hours. It didnt even need to cook for 8. This recipe is tasteless. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Next time use turkey breakfast sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
The idea is ok, but the result was not. It's really hard to tell if the omelet is undercooked, cooked or overcooked. Mine was overcooked. If we could have a temperature to hook a temperature probe. It would cut the guessing game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I adjusted this recipe for 3 servings and it came out delicious! It cooked in about 6 hours. Next time I want to substitute a can of drained spinach for the ham, onion and pepper, for a spinach omelet. I imagine you could use anything you would put in a regular omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have made this twice and wish to have more color and definition between the layers. Today had over 27 for breakfast and the Slow Cooker Western Omelet was part of my presentation. It does not present itself well in the slow cooker. I thought about dumping it on a serving plate. All who eat it like the taste. I have 1/3 left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Bland as written. I would make again with sausage and serve with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States