Slow Cooker Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good! I tried two variations, on the first I added two large potatoes and it was great! On the second, I added 1TBS fresh rosemary and served over pasta, wonderful again! This dish has a lot of Tuscan overtones and is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this recipe with a few changes and it turned out delicious. After looking at the recipe again, I've noticed that I forgot to add the parsley~ even though I have some growing in my house! LOL I think that would have added even more flavor. Like others here, I added potatoes and carrots with the other ingredients and cut the venison down to 1 pound. I didn't have tomato sauce, basil, or oregano so I substituted 1 small can each of pizza sauce and V-8. I cooked the stew overnight for about 8 hours on low, but the vegetables weren't quite done when I checked it in the morning so I turned the slow cooker on high and cooked the stew for about 2 more hours. At the very end I added 1 cup of frozen peas. It is an excellent, flavorful stew and I recommend the recipe to anyone who is cooking with venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules
Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I enjoyed this so much and so did everyone who ate of it. I added a whack of mushrooms, because there's nothing like venison and mushrooms. Portobellas, shitakis and something I found in the local Asian grocery mysteriously called, dried fungus. I am going to try it minus the mushrooms, but with black currants instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Finally have a venison stew recipe that I loved, did add Worcestershire and was great also used Red Potatoes. YUmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is our FAVORITE venison recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I have been using this recipe for awhile.I dont pre cook anything. Throw it all in the pot and let it go...I add no water replaced it with crush tomatoes. I add French onion soup mix. Even my people who hate venison due to the gamey taste love this....I serve over mash potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was the first time I made venison stew, this recipe was wonderful. Rich and decadent. I added everything from other reviews that sounded good, the mushrooms, etc. I had homemade canned roasted tomatoes that I added to the mix, extra delicious! Better the next day or even 2 days later in the crock pot. Don't skip out on the red wine, it just won't be the same with out it. Thank you for sharing, Me and mine thoroughly enjoyed this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadnamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe is hard to beat and hard to mess up! We have it often. I like to marinate my venison overnight in red wine, vinegar & oil dressing and Adolph's tenderizer. Sometimes I don't even brown the meat first, just toss it all in with a couple of beef bullion cubes. If you add cut up potatoes, corn, and baby lima beans you've got Brunswick Stew! A dash of A-1 Sauce really kicks it up a knotch~:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Cooked it with elk that a friend was wanting to get rid of and it was awesome. I added a potato, but not sure it needed it. I did not have any parsley so used some cilantro, but the followed the rest exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My husband wanted to make sure I saved this recipe. I think he gave it 10 stars!!! Just a few changes...used about 12 oz tomato sauce and one cup low sodium chicken broth instead of the wine and water. ( I didn't have beef broth or I probably would have used that) IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States