Slow Cooker Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe using venison. I'm amazed at the low ratings, must be new. It's hard to cook great meals with venison without going the extra mile to get some of the gamey flavor out. I added potatos and carrots. Had to use a cup of water,a full 15 oz can of tomato sauce and only used one lb of venison. The tomato gravy turned out excellent in thickness. Like a lot of my tomato based stews, I added 1/4 cup ketchup,a tbsp of worcestershire and two tsp of bacon grease. Wow, delicious! This is a keeper. I challenge anyone to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was good stew, even better the second day. However, I don't think venison should be cooked this long, as it has little to no fat content. As often happens, some bites were tender and others were chewy and dry. I used a cut labeled by my hunter as "hind roast." I'd be interested to know what cut of meat others used. In my opinion, the gaminess that some people complain of is due to the age of the animal or perhaps not butchering promptly. The meat my hunter provides always has a pleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good! I tried two variations, on the first I added two large potatoes and it was great! On the second, I added 1TBS fresh rosemary and served over pasta, wonderful again! This dish has a lot of Tuscan overtones and is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hackberry, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe is hard to beat and hard to mess up! We have it often. I like to marinate my venison overnight in red wine, vinegar & oil dressing and Adolph's tenderizer. Sometimes I don't even brown the meat first, just toss it all in with a couple of beef bullion cubes. If you add cut up potatoes, corn, and baby lima beans you've got Brunswick Stew! A dash of A-1 Sauce really kicks it up a knotch~:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I have been using this recipe for awhile.I dont pre cook anything. Throw it all in the pot and let it go...I add no water replaced it with crush tomatoes. I add French onion soup mix. Even my people who hate venison due to the gamey taste love this....I serve over mash potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this recipe with a few changes and it turned out delicious. After looking at the recipe again, I've noticed that I forgot to add the parsley~ even though I have some growing in my house! LOL I think that would have added even more flavor. Like others here, I added potatoes and carrots with the other ingredients and cut the venison down to 1 pound. I didn't have tomato sauce, basil, or oregano so I substituted 1 small can each of pizza sauce and V-8. I cooked the stew overnight for about 8 hours on low, but the vegetables weren't quite done when I checked it in the morning so I turned the slow cooker on high and cooked the stew for about 2 more hours. At the very end I added 1 cup of frozen peas. It is an excellent, flavorful stew and I recommend the recipe to anyone who is cooking with venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules
Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I enjoyed this so much and so did everyone who ate of it. I added a whack of mushrooms, because there's nothing like venison and mushrooms. Portobellas, shitakis and something I found in the local Asian grocery mysteriously called, dried fungus. I am going to try it minus the mushrooms, but with black currants instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was not very good. I followed the recipe because I had never cooked venison but this was awful. For one thing, the only vegetable with substance was celery. I would recommend adding potatoes and carrots as the stew was not hearty at all. I cooked it on low for 8 hours but the meat practically dissolved. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe was great. But i did rub the meat with dry mustard first, it helps cut the gamey taste of the venison. And I added potatoes,carrots and mushrooms. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I added a few ingredients to make this stew a little more "diet friendly". I used less meat and added carrots, red potatoes, and fresh mushrooms. I cooked it using the same directions except I added a little more tomato sauce and water. It turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang0331
Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States