Slow Cooker Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good! I tried two variations, on the first I added two large potatoes and it was great! On the second, I added 1TBS fresh rosemary and served over pasta, wonderful again! This dish has a lot of Tuscan overtones and is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe using venison. I'm amazed at the low ratings, must be new. It's hard to cook great meals with venison without going the extra mile to get some of the gamey flavor out. I added potatos and carrots. Had to use a cup of water,a full 15 oz can of tomato sauce and only used one lb of venison. The tomato gravy turned out excellent in thickness. Like a lot of my tomato based stews, I added 1/4 cup ketchup,a tbsp of worcestershire and two tsp of bacon grease. Wow, delicious! This is a keeper. I challenge anyone to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I added a few ingredients to make this stew a little more "diet friendly". I used less meat and added carrots, red potatoes, and fresh mushrooms. I cooked it using the same directions except I added a little more tomato sauce and water. It turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ang1114
Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This turned out very nicely, I added some carrots but everything else was followed to the recipe exactly. The venison was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
very good. i used onion powder as my house was empty of onions, added carrots and baby potatoes and some frozen corn, no leftovers! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I enjoyed this so much and so did everyone who ate of it. I added a whack of mushrooms, because there's nothing like venison and mushrooms. Portobellas, shitakis and something I found in the local Asian grocery mysteriously called, dried fungus. I am going to try it minus the mushrooms, but with black currants instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This recipe was great. But i did rub the meat with dry mustard first, it helps cut the gamey taste of the venison. And I added potatoes,carrots and mushrooms. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this recipe with a few changes and it turned out delicious. After looking at the recipe again, I've noticed that I forgot to add the parsley~ even though I have some growing in my house! LOL I think that would have added even more flavor. Like others here, I added potatoes and carrots with the other ingredients and cut the venison down to 1 pound. I didn't have tomato sauce, basil, or oregano so I substituted 1 small can each of pizza sauce and V-8. I cooked the stew overnight for about 8 hours on low, but the vegetables weren't quite done when I checked it in the morning so I turned the slow cooker on high and cooked the stew for about 2 more hours. At the very end I added 1 cup of frozen peas. It is an excellent, flavorful stew and I recommend the recipe to anyone who is cooking with venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules
Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was good stew, even better the second day. However, I don't think venison should be cooked this long, as it has little to no fat content. As often happens, some bites were tender and others were chewy and dry. I used a cut labeled by my hunter as "hind roast." I'd be interested to know what cut of meat others used. In my opinion, the gaminess that some people complain of is due to the age of the animal or perhaps not butchering promptly. The meat my hunter provides always has a pleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is our FAVORITE venison recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States