Slow Cooker Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was not very good. I followed the recipe because I had never cooked venison but this was awful. For one thing, the only vegetable with substance was celery. I would recommend adding potatoes and carrots as the stew was not hearty at all. I cooked it on low for 8 hours but the meat practically dissolved. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Was okay I didn't feel like it was specia,l tasted just like a regular beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeyet06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Really good way to do venison. I kill and butcher my own deer, this is one of the few ways I have found to make venison really taste good without the gamey flavor. Add mushrooms and french onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great! I added ketchup, worshtershire sauce, a few garlic cloves,potatoes, carrots and a couple bay leaves. It did not taste gamey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I have been using this recipe for awhile.I dont pre cook anything. Throw it all in the pot and let it go...I add no water replaced it with crush tomatoes. I add French onion soup mix. Even my people who hate venison due to the gamey taste love this....I serve over mash potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was the first time I made venison stew, this recipe was wonderful. Rich and decadent. I added everything from other reviews that sounded good, the mushrooms, etc. I had homemade canned roasted tomatoes that I added to the mix, extra delicious! Better the next day or even 2 days later in the crock pot. Don't skip out on the red wine, it just won't be the same with out it. Thank you for sharing, Me and mine thoroughly enjoyed this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadnamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
My husband absolutely loved this, me not so much. I liked to stew itself, but I've discovered I don't care much for venison & the flavor it gives. Maybe I'll try it again with just plain beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe is hard to beat and hard to mess up! We have it often. I like to marinate my venison overnight in red wine, vinegar & oil dressing and Adolph's tenderizer. Sometimes I don't even brown the meat first, just toss it all in with a couple of beef bullion cubes. If you add cut up potatoes, corn, and baby lima beans you've got Brunswick Stew! A dash of A-1 Sauce really kicks it up a knotch~:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is our FAVORITE venison recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was good stew, even better the second day. However, I don't think venison should be cooked this long, as it has little to no fat content. As often happens, some bites were tender and others were chewy and dry. I used a cut labeled by my hunter as "hind roast." I'd be interested to know what cut of meat others used. In my opinion, the gaminess that some people complain of is due to the age of the animal or perhaps not butchering promptly. The meat my hunter provides always has a pleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States